WMU Home About WMU College of Fine Arts

Main Menu

Don Desmett Among First Recipients of WMU Diversity Awards

Photo of Don DesmettThe new WMU awards program celebrates leadership, as demonstrated by successful efforts to increase diversity on campus, advance WMU's Diversity and Multicultural Action Plan, and help create a climate that welcomes and supports all individuals.

Recipients represent outstanding, exceptional or extraordinary individuals and groups engaged in initiatives and innovations in such areas as teaching, research, programs and services.

2011 Excellence in Diversity Awards

In addition, special recognition will be given to two WMU employees for leading the Committee for Leadership in Diversity, Social Justice and Inclusion. The two are Dr. Yvette Hyter, associate professor of speech pathology and audiology, and Dr. Katharine Cummings, associate dean of the College of Education and Human Development.