Faculty Achievement Awards

The Western Michigan University College of Arts and Sciences Strategic Plan calls for creating awards to recognize faculty contributions to the themes and commitments in the plan, including contributions of the faculty to the disciplinary and interdisciplinary teaching, research, creative activity, university professional and community service goals of the college.


All current, continuing board-appointed persons with faculty rank are eligible. Faculty who have received Faculty Achievement Award are not eligible to receive a subsequent award in the same category within five years.

Award selection

  • An award of $1000 will be put in the departmental research account for the recipient to use in support of teaching, research or creative activity, travel, or professional development
  • Each recipient may be invited to present a lecture, seminar, or lunch (brown bag) presentation to describe some aspect of teaching
  • Each recipient will receive a plaque at a special celebration
  • Up to three awards in each category may be made each year

Note: All awards are subject to final budgetary approval and authorization by the dean of the college. 


Feb. 1

This award will be offered for the deadline listed as long as funds are available.


Recipients 2015-16

  • Global Engagement
    Dr. Stephen Covell, Department of Comparative Religion
    Dr. Stephen Malcolm, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Professional and Community Service
    Dr. Denise Keele, Department of Political Sciences/Environmental and Sustainability Studies Program
    Dr. Marilyn Kritzman, School of Communication
  • Research and Creative Activity
    Dr. Jocelyn Steinke, School of Communication
    Dr. Maarten Vonhof, Department of Biological Sciences/Environmental and Sustainability Studies Program
    Dr. Brian Wilson, Department of Comparative Religion
  • Teaching
    Dr. Julie Apker, School of Communication
    Dr. Michael Braun, Department of Spanish
    Dr. Chien-juh Gu, Department of Sociology
    Dr. Viviane Ruellot, Department of World Languages and Literatures