Events

Unless otherwise noted, all events are free of charge and open to the public. Also see WMU News and Events.

Submit your events or news items online to the College of Arts and Sciences and University Relations.

Reserve a conference room in 2302 or 2307 Friedmann Hall

Friday, Aug. 21

Summer II session ends

Monday, Sept. 7

U.S. Labor Day - No classes. WMU offices closed except for essential and emergency services.

Tuesday, Sept. 8

Fall classes begin

Thursday, Sept. 17

College of Arts and Sciences Women's Caucus Welcome Reception, come and visit with new and returning faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences to kick off the academic year, lobby of the Richmond Center for Visual Arts, 3:30 to 5 p.m.  

Friday, Sept. 18

Study in the States Courses, deadline for instructors to submit a proposal to The Lee Honors College for courses that allow students to travel in small groups with WMU faculty experts to conduct place-based, experiential learning outside of southwest Michigan. 

Thursday, Sept. 24

The Gwen Frostic Reading Series, featuring T. Geronimo Johnson, sponsored by the Department of English creative writing program, 157-159 Bernhard Center, 8 to 9:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 14

Study Abroad Fair, Bernhard Center East Ballroom, 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 15

The Gwen Frostic Reading Series, featuring Richard Siken, sponsored by the Department of English creative writing program, 157-159 Bernhard Center, 8 to 9:30 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 19

The Gwen Frostic Reading Series Alumni Reading, featuring Heather A. Slomski, Traci Brimhall, and Adam Pasen, sponsored by the Department of English creative writing program, 157-159 Bernhard Center, 8 to 9:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 2

The Gwen Frostic Reading Series, featuring Arnold Johnston and Deborah Ann Percy, sponsored by the Department of English creative writing program, 208-209 Bernhard Center, 8 to 9:30 p.m.