Events

The College of Arts and Sciences at Western Michigan University strives to add value to the lives of its learners and continuously improve the quality of its programming to meet the needs and expectations of the communities it serves. Join us for events that are tailored to your academic interests and help prepare you for the future.

Submitting events for this calendar

Submit your events or news items online to the College of Arts and Sciences. For a series of events, please email a list or the web address of the series information to coas-web@wmich.edu.

Submitting events to University Relations

If your event is open to the entire campus community, please share it with University Relations.

If you have CMS access, please add an event under Add Content in the CMS. If you do not see that option under Add Content, please apply for the reporter role for your section(s).

If you rarely submit events and do not have a Content Management Role for a website, complete the University event form.

Need a conference room for your event?

Reserve a conference room in 2302 or 2307 Friedmann Hall.

College of Arts and Sciences news

Stay up-to-date with the college news.

Upcoming events

Friday, April 20

Biological Sciences Seminar Series–"Glucose 6-Phosphate Transport Across the Chloroplast Membrane," Dr. Sean Weise of Michigan State University, 1710 Wood Hall, 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Book club discussion–"The Future of Employment: How Susceptible Are Jobs to Computerization?" by Oxford University professors Carl B. Frey and Michael A. Osborne, Water Street Coffee Joint, 315 E. Water St., Kalamazoo, 5:30 p.m. Free; register at ethicscenter@wmich.edu by March 30.–Canceled

Monday, April 23

Final examination week–through April 26

Tuesday, April 24

Final examination week–through April 26

Wednesday, April 25

Final examination week–through April 26

Climate Change Studies Students, Faculty, Staff and Administrators Appreciation Event–Climate change studies minor capstone students will give a brief overview of why/how they got into the minor; ENVS 1000 students will share their experiences and feedback on the introductory, team-taught courses; Open discussion on climate change studies at WMU, 2708 Wood Hall, 12:30 to 2:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 26

Final examination week–through April 26

Friday, April 27

Book club discussion–"The Future of Employment: How Susceptible Are Jobs to Computerization?" by Oxford University professors Carl B. Frey and Michael A. Osborne, Water Street Coffee Joint, 315 E. Water St., Kalamazoo, 5:30 p.m. Free; register at ethicscenter@wmich.edu by March 30.–Canceled

Saturday, April 28

Commencement–Miller Auditorium, times to be announced in March.

Spring semester ends

Monday, May 7

Summer I session classes begin at 8 a.m.

Wednesday, May 9

Donuts with the Deans–informal monthly gatherings for faculty, staff and students to share comments, concerns and ideas with the dean and associate deans of the College of Arts and Sciences, University Center for the Humanities- 2500 Knauss Hall, 1 to 2:30 p.m.

Wednesday, June 13

Information session–On WMU employee tuition remission program, 205 Bernhard Center, noon. Free; refreshments will be served.

Thursday, June 14

Eid al Fitr begins at sundown

Thursday, June 21

Summer solstice (first day of summer)

Saturday, June 23

Commencement–Miller Auditorium.

Wednesday, June 27

Summer I session ends

Thursday, June 28

Summer II session begins

Wednesday, July 4

U.S. Independence Day—No classes. Many WMU offices closed or on reduced hours.

Friday, August 17

Summer II session ends

Monday, August 27

Advising Days

One-Stop Convenience Center

Tuesday, August 28

Advising Days

One-Stop Convenience Center

Wednesday, August 29

Fall semester classes begin at 8 a.m.

One-Stop Convenience Center

Thursday, August 30

One-Stop Convenience Center

Friday, August 31

One-Stop Convenience Center

Monday, September 3

U.S. Labor Day—No classes. Many WMU offices closed or on reduced hours.

Monday, September 10

Multicultural Meet and Greet–for all WMU students of color.

Saturday, September 22

Autumnal equinox (first day of fall)

Wednesday, September 26

Study Abroad Fair—Learn about numerous academic and language-intensive programs and internships, Sangren Hall, 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.