Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Spring 2010 Honors and Awards

The Department of Biological Sciences at Western Michigan University annually recognizes students who have made significant contributions through scholarly activities, as well as service, research, and leadership.

Distinguished Senior in Biomedical Sciences

Katie Walkowiak presented by Dr.Spitsbergen

Distinguished Senior in Biology

Michael Coryell presented by Dr. Barkman


Distinguished Pre-Professional in Biological Sciences

Kevin M. Hallgren presented by Dr. Pearl



Merrill Wiseman Award in Microbiology

Fernanda Jimenez Otero presented by Dr. Rossbach


Presidential Scholar in Biological Sciences

Daniell Harik presented by Dr. Jellies


Distinguished Biological Sciences Graduate Student

Sr. John-Mary J. Vianney presented by Dr. Spitsbergen



Graduate Student Awards for Teaching Effectiveness (Given by The Graduate College)

Masters Teaching

Christopher Duchesneau (not pictured)

Ph.D. Teaching

Miles Rogers presented by Dr. Cowan




Graduate Research and Creative Scholar Awards (Given by The Graduate College)

Masters Research

Sr. John-Mary Vianney presented by Dr. Spitsbergen


Ph.D. Research

Renee Zaya presented by Dr. Ide




Margaret Thomas Du Mond Award

Ryan Heenan presented by Dr. Barkman




Hazel Wirick Scholarship

Lorah Patterson presented by Dr. Barkman


Hazel Wirick Scholarship

David Haubenstricker presented by Dr. Barkman


Colin J. Gould Memorial Scholarship

Caroline Eskander presesnted by Nick Andreadis and Dr. Ransom-Hodgkins



Frank Hinds Zoology Award

Ariel Cummings presented by Dr. Gill


Leo C. VanderBeek Graduate Student Plant Biology Award

Ruiqi Huang presented by Dr. Barkman



MPI Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

Michael Francisco presented by Dr. Geiser



MPI Outstanding Graduate Research Award

Elizabeth Warburton presented by Dr. Vonhof