Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Spring 2012 Honors and Awards

The Department of Biological Sciences at Western Michigan University annually recognizes students who have made significant contributions through scholarly activities, as well as service, research, and leadership.

Distinguished Senior in Biomedical Sciences

Spencer Crouch presented by Dr. Pearl

Distinguished Senior in Biology

Jeremy Jubenville presented by Dr. Barkman

Distinguished Pre-Professional in Biological Sciences

Rachel Denny presented by Dr.Karowe

Merrill Wiseman Award in Microbiology

Olivia Walser presented by Dr. Barkman

Presidential Scholar in Biological Sciences

Leah Grawburg presented by Dr. Linn

Distinguished Biological Sciences Graduate Student

David Jeng presented by Dr. Spitsbergen

Graduate Student Awards for Teaching Effectiveness- Master's - Teaching

Alexandra Haase presented by Kathy Onderlinde

Graduate Student Awards for Teaching Effectiveness- Ph.D. - Teaching

Dan Kueh presented by Dr. Linn and Dr. Jellies

Graduate Research and Creative Scholar- Master's - Research

Taylor Paskins presented by Dr. Byrd-Jacobs


Graduate Research and Creative Scholar - Ph.D. - Research

Ben Slager presented by Dr. Malcolm

Margaret Thomas Du Mond Award

Laura Robinson presented by Dr. Malcolm

Hazel Wirick Scholarship

Ryan Wessendorf and Logan Rowe presented by Lynn Dinvald - President of the Michigan Garden Clubs, Dr. Lu and Dr. Barkman

Leo C. VanderBeek Graduate Student Plant Biology Award

Natalia Ruiz presented by Dr. Malcolm

Colin J. Gould Memorial Scholarship

Robert Cox presented by Dean Nicholas Andreadis of Lee Honors College and Dr. Linn

Frank Hinds Zoology Award

Dean Simionescu presented by Dr. Malcolm


MPI Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

Andrew Johnson (not pictured)


MPI Oustanding Graduate Research Award - Master Level

Ruiqi Huang presented by Dr. Barkman

MPI Oustanding Graduate Research Award - Doctoral Level

Dan Kueh presented by Dr. Jellies

Dr. Darrell R. Latva Biological Sciences Teaching Excellence Award

Kathy Onderlinde presented by Dr. Spitsbergen