Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu


Award Winners
Award winners

Buy an Element
Buy an element

Buy an Element
Apply to a graduate program

Department News

John Miller was awarded a $500 ASTRA grant by the College of Arts and Sciences, January 2012.

Mike Barcelona served on a peer review committee for the 2012-2013 Fulbright Scholars Awards, Fall 2011.

Megan Grunert has a paper in the December issue of the ICASE Bulletin: "Underneath it all: gender role identification and women chemists’ career choices"; she also was awarded the Stanley Kirschner Award from the Michigan College Chemistry Teachers Association for a presentation at their fall meeting, November 12, 2011.

Junior Brad Thayer was Selected by the Lee Honors College to receive a $2500 scholarship for his research.

Professor Yirong Mo's work on the anomeric effect has been featured in Chemical and Engineering News (8/22/2011).

The ChemEd 2011 conference was held at Western Michigan University from July 24-28, 2011

Elke Schoffers was promoted to Full Professor by the Board of Trustees on June 9.

Professor Obare wins Fellowship - Sherine O. Obare has received an American Competitiveness and Innovation Fellowship from the National Science Foundation's Division of Materials Research. The ACI fellowship program was established in 2008 to identify and promote high-risk, high-payoff research that is expected to lead to innovations and, thus, enhance American competitiveness in the global economy.

Chemistry graduate accepted to Harvard M.D.-Ph.D.
Neil Blok , a biochemistry major, has been accepted to the Harvard Medical School MD-PhD program, which provides fellowship support for selected and highly qualified students He is simultaneously pursuing his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees and is the first WMU graduate to enter this program.

Professor Don Schreiber has been named a Faculty Fellow of the Lee Honors College

Barcelona awarded university's highest honor
Professor Mike Barcelona was named Western Michigan University's 2010 Distinguished Faculty Scholar. Read more

Yirong Mo named Emerging Scholar. Read more

Steve Bertman Receives New NSF Award
Dr. Steven Bertman, received a grant from the National Science Foundation titled Collaborative Research: Program for Research on Oxidants: Photochemistry Emissions and Transport (PROPHET) 2009--Community Atmosphere-Biosphere INteractions EXperiment (CABINEX).’

Tova Samuels receives Graduate Student Award from Eastman Kodak Foundation
Tova Samuels, a Ph.D. graduate student is the recipient of the Eastman Kodak Dr. Theophilus Sorrell Fellowship Award. The award is administered by the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE). Tova is currently working on developing sensors and detection methods for environmental pollutants.

Sherine Obare receives Awards
Dr. Sherine Obare was awarded the 2009 George Washington Carver Teaching Excellence Award at the NOBCChE Midwest Regional Conference. This award is given to Teacher-Scholars who have demonstrated excellence in scientific research as well as a strong dedication to mentoring students and the grooming of future scientists.

Dr. Obare has also been named a 2009 IUPAC Young Observer by the National Academies. This award is given to young scientists that have demonstrated outstanding scholarly accomplishments early in their careers and have a strong commitment to international research collaborations.

Chemistry Students Receive All-University Teaching Effectiveness Awards
Brian Zeider and Teck Maan Lim are recipients of the 2009 All Department Teaching Effectiveness Awards. Brian Zeider is currently a Ph.D. student working with Dr. David Huffman. Teck Maan Lim recently completed his Master’s of Science in Chemistry with Dr. James Kiddle.

Chemistry Students Named All-University Research and Creative Scholars
Wen Guo and Chandrima De are both recipients of the All-University Research and Creative Scholar Award. Wen Guo is currently a Ph.D. student working with Dr. Sherine Obare. Chandrima De recently completed a Master’s of Science in Chemistry with Dr. Sherine Obare.

Recent Lectures