Student Organization

WMU composition students.

The Western Michigan University Student Composer Alliance empowers students to shape the activities of the composition program at Western Michigan University and facilitates the development of entrepreneurial skills. We are dedicated to promoting the creation and performance of new music at WMU and in the greater Kalamazoo area. Students meet in a weekly roundtable to discuss event production, new ideas for growth, topics related to composition and musical aesthetics. Additionally, the chapter is responsible for organizing the biannual student composer concerts and initiating collaborative projects involving new works by student composers. Student composers support and challenge each other, and grow together as a community.


  • Devin Andenno
  • Elisabeth Blair, Treasurer
  • Jeffery Brewster
  • Matthew Fountain, President
  • Nathaniel Haering, Member-at-large
  • Caleb Hammer
  • Christopher Evan Hass
  • Stephen Hepp
  • Eric Hester
  • Kevin Kerr
  • Joel Myers
  • Justin Ortez
  • Douglass Osmun
  • Maria Paterno
  • Zachary Ploeger
  • Laura Roth
  • Graeme Shields, Secretary
  • Robert Squiers
  • Lukas Stanley
  • David Stone
  • John Joseph (JJ) Treadway, Vice-Presdient
  • Bernard Walasavage
  • Jiabao Wen