Events

Subscribe to Google Calendar

Information is subject to change. You can confirm dates and times with the Western Michigan University Department of Dance at (269) 387-5830.

Fall 2013

Saturday, Aug. 24 and Sunday, Aug. 25

"Back to School Boot Camp" with DanceWorks Chicago

Wednesday, Aug. 28 through Saturday, Aug. 31

Western Dance Project rehearsals

Thursday, Aug. 29 and Friday, Aug. 30

Advising days

Monday, Sept. 2

Labor Day

Tuesday, Sept. 3

8 a.m. — Fall classes begin

6 p.m. — Town meeting in Dance Studio B

Thursday, Sept. 5

7 p.m. — Welcome back party with China and SIP trips recap for majors and minors in the Multimedia Room

Friday, Sept. 20

7 p.m. — Peter Chu audition

Friday, Sept. 20 through Sunday, Sept. 29

"chuthis" residency (may arrive Sept. 19)

Peter Chu and "chuthis," coming to Chenery Auditorium on Friday, Sept. 27 at 8 p.m.

Friday, Sept 27

8 p.m. — "chuthis" and new work for WMU dancers in concert at Chenery Auditorium

Friday, Oct. 4 through Sunday, Oct. 13

4 p.m. — audition

10-day residency with Gabrielle Lamb, National Choreography Competition 2013 winner

Friday, Oct. 11

Department entrance and scholarship auditions

Photo of Gabrielle Lamb.

Gabrielle Lamb, National Choreography Competition 2013 winner

Saturday, Oct. 12

7 p.m. — Open rehearsal with Gabrielle Lamb, National Choreography Competition 2013 winner, in Studio B

Homecoming

Friday, Oct. 18

Noon — Dance showing

4 p.m. — Orchesis Concert Adjudications

Sunday, Oct. 20 through Sunday, Oct. 27

First-year performance guest artist residency: Marlo Stafford Martin

Friday, Nov. 8

Department entrance and scholarship auditions

Wednesday, Nov. 13 through Sunday, Nov. 17

Orchesis concert in Dance Studio B, 8 p.m. evenings and 2 p.m. matinees Saturday and Sunday

Friday, Nov. 22

Noon — Dance showing, American College Dance Festival and Winter Concert Adjudications in Multimedia Room

Saturday, Nov. 23

Oakland Dance Festival (Western Dance Project)

Wednesday, Nov. 27 through Sunday, Dec. 1

Thanksgiving recess (classes dismissed at noon on Wednesday)

Friday, Dec. 6

Western Dance Project and guests at Art Hop at the Epic Center in downtown Kalamazoo

Saturday, Dec. 7

2 and 7 p.m. — Fall showcase: 3800 choreography final projects and performance by first year students in Studio B

Monday, Dec. 9 through Friday, Dec. 13

Final examination week

Saturday, Dec. 14

Commencement

Spring 2014

Thursday, Jan. 2 and Friday, Jan. 3

Advising days

Monday, Jan. 6

8 a.m. — Classes begin

Sunday, Jan. 12

"Cinderella," Moscow Festival Ballet in Miller Auditorium*

Jan. TBA

Peter Chu returns for final rehearsals

Gabrielle Lamb returns for final rehearsals

Monday, Jan. 20

Martin Luther King Jr. Day Recess

Thursday, Jan. 30 through Saturday, Feb. 1

Winter Gala Dance Concert in Shaw Theatre, Gilmore Theatre Complex*

Friday, Jan. 31

Great Works Dinner

Friday, Feb. 21

Department entrance auditions

Friday, Feb. 28

Spirit Day (no classes)

Monday, March 3

Spring break begins

Sunday, March 2 through Wednesday, March 5

East Central Conference of the American College Dance Festival Association at Ohio University

Monday, March 10

Classes resume

Thursday, March 20

Presidential Scholar Ceremony (date still pending)

Friday, March 21

Noon — Dance showing in the Multimedia Room

Thursday, March 27

8 p.m. — Junior Jury Dances in Dance Studio B

Thursday, April 10 through Sunday, April 13

Graduating presentations in dance in dance Studio B* at 8 p.m. Thursday, Friday and Saturday, and 2 p.m. Saturday and Sunday

Tuesday, April 15

Pilobolus at Miller Auditorium*

Friday, April 18

Good Friday

Sunday, April 20

Easter

7 to 9 p.m. — Senior supper (tentative)

Monday, April 21 through Friday, April 25

Final examination week

Saturday, April 26

Commencement

Sunday, April 27 to ?

Montreal SIP trip

 

*Indicates there is an admission charge.

Dance Studio B is located on the third floor of the Dalton Center.