Events

 

DEPARTMENT OF DANCE

ACADEMIC YEAR CALENDAR 2015-16

www.wmich.edu/dance

Subject to change. Please confirm dates and times with the Department of Dance at 269-387-5830

 

Fall 2015 Semester

Thur-Fri Sept 3-4
Advising Days
 
Fri-Mon Sept 4-7                      
Western Dance Project rehearsals (Commissioned work)
 
Mon Sept 7                                
Labor Day                                                                                                               
 
Tues Sept 8                               
8 am – Fall classes begin; 6 pm – Town Meeting, Dance Studio B
7 pm – Welcome back party for majors and minors, Multimedia Room
 
Fri Sept 18                                 
5:30 pm Winter Gala Concert faculty dances audition, Dance Studio B
 
Tues-Wed Sept 22-23           
Residency with distinguished alumna Erin Malley
 
Fri-Sat, Sept 25-Oct 4             
Residency with Leslie Young, Staging of Lew Christensen’s “Con Amore”
 
Fri Oct 2                                      
5 pm Open Rehearsal for Lew Christensen’s “Con Amore.”  Free and open to the public.
 
Thu Oct 8                                   
6:30 pm - Orchesis Concert Adjudications
 
Fri-Sat Oct 9-17                        
Rennie Harris PureMovement residency
 
Fri Oct 9                                      
Department Entrance and Scholarship Auditions 

Fri Oct 16
Noon Dance Showing
5 pm Open Rehearsal for Great Work by Rennie Harris                                 

Fri Oct 23                                   
Residency with distinguished alumnus Trent McEntire
 
Sat Oct 24                                  
Homecoming
 
Wed-Sun, Oct 28-Nov 1         
Orchesis Concert, Dance Studio B, 8 pm evenings; 2 pm matinees Sat & Sun* 
                 
Fri Nov 6                                    
Department Entrance and Scholarship Auditions
 
Fri Nov 13                                  
Noon Dance Showing, Winter Concert Adjudications, Multimedia Room
Dancing with the WMU/Kazoo Stars scholarship fundraiser, Miller Auditorium*
 
Fri-Sat Nov 20, 21                   
Oakland Dance Festival
 
Wed-Sun Nov 25-29              
Thanksgiving Recess (classes dismissed at noon on Wednesday)
 
Fri Dec 4                                    
Western Dance Project & guests at Art Hop, Epic Center, downtown Kalamazoo
 
Sat Dec 12                                 
Fall Showcase: Performance by first year students and guests, Dance Studio B. 3 pm & 7 pm
 
Dec 14-18                                 
Final Examination Week
 
Sat Dec 19                                 
Commencement
 

Spring 2016 Semester

 
Thu-Fri Jan 7-8                        
Advising Days
 
Mon Jan 11                               
8 am classes begin
 
Sun-Sun Jan 10-17                                  
National Choreographer Winner James Gregg in residence
 
Fri Jan 15                                  
Open Rehearsal of James Gregg commission, Dance Studio B 5-6 pm.  Free and open to the public.
 
Mon Jan 18                               
MLK Day Recess
 
Fri Feb 19                                  
Department Entrance Auditions
 
Thu-Sat Feb 25-27                                   
Winter Gala Dance Concert, Shaw Theatre, Gilmore Theatre Complex*
 
Fri March 4                                
Spirit Day (no classes)
 
Sat-Tues, Mar 5-8                    
East Central Conference of American College Dance Association, hosted by Department of Dance at WMU
 
Mon Mar 7                                  
Spring break begins
 
Mon Mar 14                               
Classes Resume
 
Fri Mar 18                                  
Noon Dance Showing, MMR
 
Fri Mar 25                                  
Good Friday

Sun Mar 27                                
Easter
 
Tues Mar 29                              
Presidential Scholars Convocation
 
Thu Mar 31                                
Junior Jury Dances, 8 pm, Dance Studio B
 
Thu-Sun April 14-17               
Graduating Presentations in Dance, Dance Studio B*
 
Sun Apr 24                                
Senior Brunch
 
Apr 25- 29                                 
Final exam week
 
Sat Apr 30                                  
Commencement
 
Week of May 2                          
Student Immersion Trip to Philadelphia

* Indicates there is an admission charge. Dance Studio B is located on the third floor of the Dalton Center.  
Revised 8-14-15
 
Please check the Department of Dance website for any updates.  www.wmich.edu/dance