Using Shares

Using the Web interface of Webmail Plus, you may share mail folders, address books, calendars, task lists, and briefcase folders. This allows you to collaborate with others using Webmail Plus.

Selecting access privileges

It is important that you select access privileges carefully. If you grant someone admin or manager privileges to one of your folders, they will be able to delete items or even the folder itself, even though those items reside in your account. Deleted items will be moved to your trash without any notification and automatically removed in 30 days if nothing else is done to them.

Internal users or groups: you select the type of privileges (roles) to grant internal users (anyone with a Webmail Plus account).

  • Viewer: can read the contents of the shared folder but cannot make changes to the content.
  • Manager: have full permission to view and edit the content, create new sub-folders, and edit and delete files in the shared folder.
  • Admin: have complete permission to view, edit, add, remove, accept, decline and administer content.
  • None: disables access to a shared folder without revoking the share privilege. The grantee will still have the shared folder but cannot view or manage activities in it.

External guests: you create a password for the shared folder that guests must enter to view content. They cannot make any changes. 

Public: anyone that knows the URL can view the content but they cannot make any changes.

Sharing mail folders

Mail folders can only be shared with internal groups or users. You may share any of your mail folders, including the inbox and any sub-folders. To share a mail folder:

  1. Right-click the folder you wish to share and select Share Folder.
  2. When the Share Properties form opens, fill it out and click OK.

Sharing address books

  1. Right-click the address book you wish to share and select Share Address Book.
  2. When the Share Properties form opens, fill it out and click OK.

Sharing calendars

  1. Right-click the calendar you wish to share and select Share Calendar.
  2. When the Share Properties form opens, fill it out and click OK.
  3. If you are sharing an events calendar and make it public, you may provide them the URL that will display in the URL field.

Sharing task lists

  1. Right-click the task list you wish to share and select Share Task List.
  2. When the Share Properties form opens, select with whom you wish to share.
  3. Select a Role.
  4. Click the Send standard message drop-down menu and select one of the options.
  5. Click OK.
  6. An email will then be sent to those with whom you have shared the task list.

Revoking task list permissions

  1. Right-click the shared list and choose Edit Properties from the menu.
  2. From the Sharing for this folder section, locate the permissions you want to revoke and click Revoke.

Sharing your briefcase

  1. Click Briefcase and then select Share Folder.
  2. When the Share Properties form opens, fill it out and click OK.

Removing an accepted shared access

Ask the person who shared it with you to revoke the share. To see who that is, click Preferences in the tool bar and then Sharing in the overview pane. Do not ever simply delete it. If you delete it, it removes it from the owner's account and places it in their trash without giving them any notification that this has occurred.

Revoking a granted shared access

To remove a share that you granted, click Preferences in the tool bar and then Sharing in the overview pane. This displays all shares, either granted or accepted. Select the share you want to revoke and click Revoke.