File Sharing Safety Precautions

Uploading tips

Uploading means sharing your personal files with other Internet users. Uploading may leave your computer vulnerable to security threats including hackers and malware. It is recommended that if you are using a file sharing program, you disable file uploads. Instructions for specific programs are below. Sharing copyrighted material is illegal. See Digital Millennium Copyright Act violations.

Downloading tips

File sharing programs allow you to connect to other users' computer to download files that may contain malware. The only way to prevent the downloading of malware through file sharing programs is to discontinue downloading.

Disabling file sharing uploads


It is not possible to disable file sharing in BitTorrent (or other torrent clients) or to disable sharing of .torrent files while downloading from another peer. As long as you are downloading a .torrent file or leave the window open, you are sharing that file. Do not use BitTorrent (or other torrent clients) to download copyrighted files.

Direct Connect

Direct Connect is a protocol, not an application. Use client documentation to disable sharing.


  1. Open Gnucleus.
  2. From the Edit menu select Preferences.
  3. Click on Share in the Properties window.
  4. Highlight each shared directory in the Shared Directories field and click Remove until the field is empty.
  5. Click OK.


  1. Open Phex.
  2. From the Settings menu select Phex Options.
  3. From the Options window, select Sharing under the Download/Sharing Settings.
  4. On the Sharing window, set the Max uploads per hour field to 0.
  5. Click OK.


  1. Open Shareaza.
  2. From the Tools menu select Shareaza options.
  3. Select Uploads from the Shareaza menu and set Limit per unique host to 0.
  4. Click OK.