Fellowship Awards

Fellowship Awards

Renewable History Fellowship Award


Thanks to generous donations, the department awards renewable $1,000 fellowships to newly admitted, full-time freshman students with declared majors in History (LEC), Public History, Secondary Education, History, or Social Studies (with History minor option).  A minimum 3.5 high school GPA is required at the time of application.  The scholarship is renewable for up to four years provided that the student’s cumulative GPA does not drop below 3.5 and they maintain full-time status as majors in the Department of History. The full award totals $4,000.brokaw

In 2012, Delandra Brokaw was the first recipient of the History Fellowship Award.  Delandra is a graduate of Princess Anne High School in Virginia Beach, Virginia. She says that her father got her interested in studying history by taking her to museums.  She remembers how much she enjoyed reading the labels and studying artifacts.  Delandra is also a member of the Bronco Skating Club.

haviraWhen Dr. Barbara Havira retired in 2013, the department named one History Fellowship Award in her honor.  The 2013 recipient of the ennis Dr. Barbara Havira History Fellowship Award is Kelsey Ennis.  Kelsey is a graduate of Midland High School in Midland, Michigan. Her mother and grandmother sparked her interests in history by taking her with them on trips to antique stores. She also took up archaeology on her own by searching for objects in a nearby river and then attempting to identify them.

Congratulations to both Delandra and Kelsey on these scholarships and thank you to the generous donors who make these awards possible in the Department of History.


Department of History
4301 Friedmann Hall
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5334 USA
(269) 387-4650 | (269) 387-4651 Fax