Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering - Leading Process and Product Improvement

IME Faculty and Students

Faculty

The key to any program is its faculty and staff. Western Michigan University's Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering has 25 full-time faculty members and several part-time faculty and adjunct professors. These faculty members are committed to providing the finest undergraduate programs, and the teaching and student support that defines these programs, in the Midwest.

They are also actively engaged in research that keeps them current with developments in their fields. Most faculty members have industrial work experience and appreciate both the applied and theoretical aspects of education.

Many of our faculty also teach at the Grand Rapids Graduate Center-Beltline facility, including Dr. Aller, Dr. Gupta, Dr. Houshyar, Dr. Lyth, Dr. Mallak, and Dr. White.


Steven Butt, Professor and Department Chair

Office: E-227 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3356
E-mailsteven.butt@wmich.edu
Specializations: Operations Research, Routing & Scheduling, Engineering Statistics

Web Page


Betsy Aller, Associate Professor

Office: F-227 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3354
E-mailbetsy.aller@wmich.edu
Specializations: Capstone design, First-year STEM Education, Manufacturing for/Managing Sustainability

Web Page


Kailash Bafna, Professor

Office: E-212 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3355
E-mailkailash.bafna@wmich.edu
Specializations: Engineering Cost Analysis, Facilities Design, Quality Control, Material Handling

Web Page


Alamgir Choudhury, Associate Professor

Office: F-222 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3357
E-mailalamgir.choudhury@wmich.edu
Specializations: Mechanical Design, Mechanics, Computer Aided Engineering, Fluid Power, Instrumentation and Process Control

Web Page


Laila Cure, Assistant Professor

arava

Office: E-208 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3371
E-maillaila.cure@wmich.edu
Specializations: Healthcare Engineering, Healthcare Risk Management, Patient Safety

Web Page


Paul Engelmann, Assistant Dean for Advising and

Retention

Office: F-214 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3348
E-mailpaul.engelmann@wmich.edu
Specializations: Student Success in STEM Education, Injection Molding, Plastics Tooling

Web Page


Jerry Fiala, Faculty Specialist

Office: F-225 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3359
E-mailjerrie.fiala@wmich.edu
Specializations: Technical Communication, Team / Small-Group Communication, Science News Writing and Journalism, Editing, and Photography

Web Page


Tycho Fredericks, Professor

Office: E-223 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3360
E-mailtycho.fredericks@wmich.edu
Specializations: Industrial Ergonomics, Work Measurement and Design, Product Design and Development

Web Page


Tarun Gupta, Professor

Office: E-220 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3361
E-mailtarun.gupta@wmich.edu
Specializations: Robotics, Computer Integrated Manufacturing, Computer Simulation

Web Page


Azim Houshyar, Professor

Office: E-219 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3363
E-mailazim.houshyar@wmich.edu
Specializations:Facilities Design, Operations Research, Reliability Engineering, Simulation Methodology

Web Page


Pavel Ikonomov, Associate Professor

Office: E-221 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3284
E-mailpavel.ikonomov@wmich.edu
Specializations: Virtual Reality Simulation, Immerse Technologies

Web Page


Mitchel Keil, Professor

Office: F-221 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3365
E-mailmitchel.keil@wmich.edu
Specializations: Design for Manufacturability, Machine Design, Vehicle Simulation, Automatic Routing of Flexible Elements, Reverse Engineering

Web Page


Leonard Lamberson, Professor

Office: E-207 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3367
E-mailleonard.lamberson@wmich.edu
Specializations: Reliability Engineering, Design of Experiments

Web Page


David Lyth, Professor

Office: E-222 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3368
E-maildavid.lyth@wmich.edu
Specializations: Quality Management, Healthcare Engineering, Production/Operations Management, Service Management

Web Page


Larry Mallak, Professor

Office: E-228 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3369
E-maillarry.mallak@wmich.edu
Specializations: Healthcare Systems Engineering, Engineering Management, Organizational Culture Assessment and Change

Web Page


David Meade, Associate Professor

Office: 221 S. Quarterline Rd., Muskegon, MI, 49442
Phone: 231-777-0593
E-maildavid.meade@wmich.edu
Specializations: Manufacturing Operations Management, Lean Manufacturing, Facility Planning

Web Page


John Patten, Professor

Office: C-245 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3246
E-mailjohn.patten@wmich.edu
Specializations: Manufacturing, Precision Engineering, Machining Simulations, Metrology, Materials (semiconductors and ceramics)

Web Page


Joseph Petro, Master Faculty Specialist

Office: F-229 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3370
E-mailjoseph.petro_jr@wmich.edu
Specializations: Production/Operations Management, Productivity, Continuous Improvement

Web Page


Troy Place, Faculty Specialist II

arava

Office: F-220 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3366
E-mailtroy.place@wmich.edu
Specializations: Technical Communications, Report Preparation

Web Page


Diana Prieto, Assistant Professor

Office: F-213 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3342
E-maildiana.prieto@wmich.edu
Specializations: Disease Modeling and Surveillance, Agent-Based Simulation, Applied Statistical Analysis

Web Page


Sam Ramrattan, Professor

Office: F-218 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3373
E-mailsam.ramrattan@wmich.edu
Specializations: Metal Casting, Process Control, Industrial Materials and Processes

Web Page


Jorge Rodriguez, Associate Professor

Office: E-224 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3374
E-mailjorge.rodriguez@wmich.edu
Specializations: Computer-Aided Design/Engineering, Finite Element Analysis, CAE-Optimization

Web Page


Fred Sitkins, Professor

Office: F-231 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3375 or 276-3261
E-mailfred.sitkins@wmich.edu
Specializations: Quality Assurance, Metrology, Motion Control in Manufacturing Processes, ISO 9000/QS 9000 Assessment and Preparation

Web Page


Thomas Swartz, Master Faculty Specialist

Office: F-224 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3376
E-mailthomas.swartz@wmich.edu
Specializations: Technical Communication, Report Writing

Web Page


Slobodan Urdarevik, Master Faculty Specialist

Office: F-215 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3364
E-mailslobodan.urdarevik@wmich.edu
Specializations: Engineering Graphics

Web Page


James VanDePolder, Associate Professor

Office: F-230 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3378
E-mailjames.vandepolder@wmich.edu
Specializations: Engine Testing, Emission and Air Pollution Control, Automotive Fault Analysis

Web Page


Bob White, Professor

Office: E-216 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3379
E-mailbob.white@wmich.edu
Specializations: Engineering Economy/Cost Analysis, Production and Operations Management

Web Page


 

Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5336 USA
(269) 276-3350 | (269) 276-3353 Fax



Copyright © 2012 Western Michigan University, All Rights Reserved
Questions: ime-info@wmich.edu