Western Michigan University
Lawson Ice Arena and Gabel Natatorium
  • Open Skate Slide
  • Open Swim Slide
  • Photo of Bronco Hockey Wall Mural Slide

Lawson Ice Arena and Gabel Natatorium

Lawson Ice Arena LogoLawson Ice Arena is home to Western Michigan University's NCHC Bronco Hockey team. In addition to hosting the WMU Broncos, the arena is used by the University for physical education classes, club sports, and open skate and within the community for tournaments, intramural hockey, and KOHA youth hockey programs. Each year Lawson Ice Arena is host to approximately 193,550 visitors, seating up to 4,000 spectators per event.

Open Skate

Gabel Natatorium LogoGabel Natatorium is used for WMU's Zest for Life, community swimming classes (for infants to adults) and open swim. The natatorium is also home to Hackett Catholic Central High School Swim Team and Mattawan High School.

Open Swim

Holliday Swim

Holiday Swim

Admission

•    $3 for children 12 and under or anyone with a WMU ID
•    $4 for 13 and up

Scheduled Times:
  • Sat., Dec. 24, noon – 2 p.m.
  • Mon., Dec. 26 – Fri., Dec. 30, 2 – 4 p.m.
  • Sat., Dec. 31, noon – 2 p.m.
  • Mon., Jan. 2 – Fri., Jan. 6, 1:30 – 3 p.m.

Holiday Skate

Holiday Skate

Admission

•    $3 admission
•    $1 Skate Rental

Scheduled Times:
  • Mon., Dec. 19, noon – 2 p.m.
  • Tues., Dec. 20, noon – 2 p.m.
  • Thurs., Dec. 22, noon – 2 p.m.
  • Fri., Dec. 23, 10 a.m. – noon
  • Sat., Dec. 24, noon – 2 p.m.
  • Mon., Dec. 26 – Sat., Dec. 31, noon – 2 p.m.
  • Mon., Jan. 2 – Fri., Jan. 6, noon – 2 p.m.

Holliday Lap Swim

Holiday Lap Swim
Only available to WMU faculty, staff, students, alumni and West Hills Athletic Club members.

Admission

• $2 Admission with valid WMU or West Hills Athletic Club ID

Scheduled Times:
  • Mon., Dec.19 – Fri., Dec. 23, 6:30 – 7:45 a.m.
  • Mon., Dec.19 – Fri., Dec. 23, 11 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Home of the WMU Bronco Hockey Team
Register for Aquatic Classes
Photo Gallery