Help select WMU's top four staffers for 2012

contact: Jeanne Baron
| WMU News

KALAMAZOO--Twenty-three staff members are in the running for Western Michigan University's 2012 Make a Difference annual awards, which carry a $1,200 before-tax prize and will be presented during this fall's Academic Convocation.

The 23 are recipients of 2011-12 fall and spring semiannual awards through the Make a Difference program. As such, they are now eligible to be considered for one of the four annual awards bestowed by this peer-to-peer staff recognition program.

Members of the WMU community have through Thursday, May 31, to help decide who will be this year's "final four."

In the running are:

  • Jennifer Bailey, University Recreation
  • Paula Bucknell, Extended University Programs
  • Jeffrey Carr, Facilities Management-maintenance services
  • Tracy Corstange, College of Education and Human Development
  • Myra Currie, Department of Public Safety
  • Cheri Edgar, Department of Business Information Systems
  • Christin Fawley-Zehner, Valley I Dining Service
  • David Florida, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Francies Frazier, Facilities Management-building custodial and support services
  • Margaret Hamilton, College of Fine Arts
  • Anthony Helms, College of Education and Human Development
  • M'Myia Hughes, College of Education and Human Development
  • Nicole Kalmbach, Division of Student Affairs-business operations
  • Kristine Kling, Department of Foreign Languages
  • Lori Krum, Department of Physics
  • Julie Lenczycki, Facilities Management-projects and construction
  • Rainer Liebert, Sindecuse Health Center
  • Jessica Parker, Extended University Programs
  • Scott Puckett, Office of the Vice Provost for Enrollment Management
  • Roxann Swank, College of Education and Human Development
  • Veronica Thomas, Office of Residence Life
  • Robert VanDyke, Dining Services
  • Lisa Youtzy, Department of Marketing

In making its decision, a selection committee composed of representatives from each non-faculty employee group will review new information submitted for the candidates, as well as their previously submitted semiannual nomination materials. Those wishing to submit new information should include specific examples of how their candidates have demonstrated dedication to outstanding service.

The prestigious annual Make a Difference award is reserved for exceptional employees—those who reach far beyond their assigned responsibilities to give generously and creatively of their time and talents, making the University an even finer place to work and study.

Information about submitting additional information and forms to do so are available at