25 Year Club to induct 72 longtime employees

contact: Jeanne Baron
| WMU News
Photo of entrance sign to Westen Michigan University.

25 Year Club induction ceremony for WMU employees Nov. 27

KALAMAZOO—A total of 72 people who began their service to Western Michigan University in 1987 will be inducted into WMU's 25 Year Club during a gala honoring longtime employees set for Tuesday, Nov. 27.

The annual gala, held in the University’s Bernhard Center, honors employees who have built their careers at WMU. With the new class of inductees in place, the club includes 447 active employees and 694 retired employees for a total of 1,141 members.

For more information about the 25 Year Club, visit the club website.

The 2012 inductees

  • Valerie Armstrong, building project specialist, building custodial and support services
  • Roger T. Arndt, finance analyst, Extended University Programs
  • Sean M. Bashaw, electrical shop supervisor, Department of Chemistry
  • Terry R. Bettiga, supervisor, maintenance services
  • Timothy J. Bowers, equipment operator I, landscape services
  • Christina Bradshaw, lead direct support professional, Center for Disability Services
  • Arlene K. Buchanan, carpet cleaner, building custodial and support services
  • Jerry R. Burhans, environmental control person, maintenance services
  • David A. Burnie, professor of finance and commercial law
  • John E. Campos, sound studio manager, School of Music
  • Hugh O. Carpenter, retired pipefitter, maintenance services
  • Shelly Carpenter, associate director, GEAR UP Learning Centers
  • Brian E. Crandall, lieutenant, Department of Public Safety
  • Nancy E. Cretsinger, director of administrative services, Office of the Provost
  • Sandra L. Custer, systems specialist, Sindecuse Health Center
  • Robert F. D'Amelio, assistant athletic director-sports marketing, Division of Intercollegiate athletics
  • James R. Daniels, retired professor of theatre
  • Patty J. Deloach, administrative assistant, gender and women's studies program
  • Jim P. DeMello, professor of finance and commercial law
  • Betty D. Dennis, associate dean, Extended University Programs
  • Teri Dunithan, office associate, Logistical Services
  • Elaine Gaudio, executive assistant, Office of the President
  • Raghvendra R. Gejji, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering
  • Bonnie S. Gorham, retired assistant director, WMU-Battle Creek
  • Deborah J. Hallock, custodian, building custodial and support services
  • Margaret J. Hamilton, retired director of academic advising, College of Fine Arts
  • Kimberlee S. Hemingway, office assistant, Division of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Diana Hernandez, director, Division of Multicultural Affairs
  • Patricia M. Holton, director of environmental safety and emergency management, Department of Public Safety
  • Timothy M. Holysz, director, landscape services
  • Tonia L. Hudson, custodian, building custodial and support services
  • Joseph J. Hulsebus, programmer analyst, Office of Information Technology
  • Dale S. Jansen, manager of database administration, Office of Information Technology
  • Katherine Joslin, professor of English
  • Victoria Kennedy, skilled trades helper, maintenance services
  • William S. Kern, professor of economics
  • Renata A. Knific, professor of music
  • Thomas Knific, professor of music
  • Julie M. Lenczycki, interior designer, projects and construction
  • David E. Little, professor of music
  • David M. Lyth, professor of industrial and manufacturing engineering
  • Donna Marks, executive assistant, Office of Government Affairs
  • Angela M. Miller, accounting services analyst, accounting
  • Robin A. Miller, assistant baker, Davis Dining Service
  • Jacqueline R. Mills, finance specialist, cashiering
  • Mark A. Mundo, food service stockperson, Bernhard Center Dining Service
  • Thomas A. Myers, director of electronic communications, Office of University Relations
  • Rosalie J. Nelsen, research assistant, Office of Development and Alumni Relations
  • Julie A. Nemire, director of academic advising, College of Fine Arts
  • Louise Ollie, utility food worker, Valley 2 Dining Service
  • Johnny L. Paige, house staff, Bernhard Center
  • Barbara J. Peacock, office coordinator, Department of Psychology
  • Elaine L. Phillips, professor of physician assistant
  • Nancy P. Pyne, head baker, Bernhard Center Dining Service
  • Roman J. Rabiej, professor of mechanical and aeronautical engineering
  • Cheryl P. Roland, executive director, Office of University Relations
  • Loisjean A. Shelton, custodian, building custodial and support services
  • Valerie K. Simmons, custodian, building custodial and support services
  • Rebecca S. Solomon, director of administration, Haenicke Institute for Global Education
  • C. Richard Spates, professor of psychology
  • Kathleen K. Springsteen, coordinator of projects, Office of the Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
  • Dan L. St. Clair, carpenter, maintenance services
  • Nicholas Stoken, equipment operator I, landscape services
  • Jeffrey A. Stone, associate athletic director, Division of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Matthew J. Tomczak, senior director of enterprise systems, Office of Information Technology
  • Bruce J. Uchimura, professor of music
  • Camela S. Vossen, emergency management administrator, Department of Public Safety
  • Linda C. Walker, administrative assistant, Extended University Programs
  • Selena D. Walker, campuswide custodian, building custodial and support services
  • Laurie A. White, telecommunications service representative, Office of Information Technology
  • Darlene R. Zackery, custodian, building custodial and support services
  • Allen Zagarell, professor of anthropology