Registration for diversity awards event under way

contact: Deanne Puca
| WMU News

KALAMAZOO—Registration runs through Wednesday, March 27, for an event honoring WMU faculty, staff, students and departments and organizations that have shown exemplary leadership in contributing to diversity and inclusion on campus and in the community.

The Third Annual Excellence in Diversity Awards will be at 5 p.m., Wednesday, April 3, in the East Ballroom of the Bernhard Center. Appetizers from around the world will be served at this free event.

2013 Nominees

  • Britne Amos, doctoral student, chair of the Graduate Student Advisory Committee
  • Dr. Nicholas Andreadis, dean, Lee Honors College
  • Robyn Bowers, director, Alpha Program, Center for Academic Success Programs
  • Dennis R. Corbin, associate athletic director for Medical/Support Services, Division of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Tony Dennis, director, Graduate Student Recruitment and Retention, Graduate College
  • Dr. Lonnie E. Duncan, associate professor and co-director of training, College of Education and Human Development
  • Department of Facilities Management
  • Dr. Joan Herrington, chair and professor of theatre, College of Fine Arts
  • Dr. Mariam Konaté, assistant professor of gender and women's studies, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Carla Koretsky, associate dean, Lee Honors College
  • Dr. Suzie Nagel, associate vice president, Division of Student Affairs
  • Dr. Lynn Nations-Johnson, professor of teaching, learning and educational studies, College of Education and Human Development
  • OUTspoken, Registered Student Organization
  • Dr. Timothy Ready, director, Lewis Walker Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnic Relations
  • Lynnae Stankus, associate director, Residence Life, Division of Student Affairs

Nominees were selected by leaders of departments and programs who recognized those faculty, staff, students, departments and organizations that have directly worked to build an inclusive campus and accomplished one or more goals of the Diversity and Multiculturalism Action Plan:

  • To develop and maintain a shared and inclusive understanding of diversity, multiculturalism, institutional bias and affirmative action through training and education at every level of the institution.
  • To recommend an institutional infrastructure that dismantles institutional bias and recognizes, supports and sustains the efforts of this diversity and multiculturalism initiative at all levels of the institution.
  • To create a welcoming and inclusive university environment that includes ongoing training, curriculum reform and research incentives.
  • To recruit, retain, and graduate a diverse student body and promote a diverse workforce at all levels.
  • To enhance curricular, co-curricular, research, service, artistic and study abroad activities as a means to fully engage the University community in an affirming, diverse, and multicultural learning environment.
  • To develop and maintain consistent accountability measures in order to accurately assess progress toward institutionalizing diversity and multiculturalism at all levels.

 For more information or to RSVP, visit