June 2017 Events

Thursday, June 1

Summer Conference on Livable CommunitiesCollege of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Floyd Hall at Parkview Campus, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Registration required by May 19: $50 or $10 for students.

Friday, June 2

Summer Conference on Livable CommunitiesCollege of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Floyd Hall at Parkview Campus, 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Registration required by May 19: $50 or $10 for students.

Sunday, June 4

Memorial serviceHonoring the life of Chuck Comer, retired faculty member and former assistant football coach, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, 314 S. Park St., Kalamazoo, 1 to 4 p.m.

Tuesday, June 6

Conference"Addressing the Michigan Opioid Crisis," daylong event featuring several speakers and presentations, WMU-Grand Rapids regional location, 2333 E. Beltline Ave. SE, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Free; lunch provided.
Lecture"The Death Gap: How Inequality Kills," Dr. David Ansell, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, WMed Auditorium, 300 Portage St., Kalamazoo, 7 p.m. Free.

Friday, June 9

College of Aviation Golf OutingBedford Valley Golf Course, 23161 Waubascon Road, Battle Creek. Check-in begins at 7:30 a.m.; 8:30 a.m. shotgun start. Register online: $75 per golfer early-bird rate; $85 after May 26.

Wednesday, June 21

Summer solstice (first day of summer)

Saturday, June 24

CommencementMiller Auditorium, times to be announced.

Monday, June 26

Eid al Fitr begins at sundown

Wednesday, June 28

Summer I session ends
WMU Night at Comerica ParkDetroit Tigers versus Kansas City Royals, Comerica Park, 7:10 p.m. Tickets and tailgate and travel packages: mywmu.com.

Thursday, June 29

Summer II session begins
Board of Trustees meetingBernhard Center. Closed informal session at 9 a.m. Formal session at 11 a.m.