Menu

Registrar’s Notes – August 18, 2014

Summer II Grading

Summer II grades are due tomorrow at noon. The grading system will be turned off soon after the deadline and we will begin processing. Grades will be available for students to view as soon as processing has been completed, which we anticipate will be sometime tomorrow afternoon. Students will be notified through their wmich.edu e-mail account if their academic standing changes to probation, extended probation, final probation or dismissal.

Students dismissed as a result of their Summer II grades will be dropped from any Fall 2014 registration on Friday, August 22.

Degree Works Training

Degree Works training is being held on September 24 from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. and September 26 from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. The training sessions will provide a one-on-one opportunity to learn more about the navigation and use of Degree Works. To sign up for a 30 minute time block, please contact Lenore Bishop in the Registrar’s Office by phone at 387-4310.

Spring 2015 Textbook Orders

The Spring 2015 textbook deadline is less than a month away. All textbook orders must be submitted by September 15 to keep WMU in full compliance with the Higher Education Opportunity Act. Instructions on the textbook requisition process can be found on the Registrar’s Office website at http://www.wmich.edu/registrar/faculty-staff/textbooks/.

One Stop

In preparation for the Fall semester, the One Stop Center will begin Monday in the West Ballroom of the Bernhard Center. On average, over 5,000 students and families are helped each fall semester with their back to school needs. Offices represented at One Stop include, Accounts Receivable, Admissions, Financial Aid, Information Technology, Parking Services and the Registrar’s Office. New this year is a resource corner which will provide additional information regarding academic advising, Parent and Family Programs, Sindecuse Health Center, and the new tobacco-free campus policy. Days and times are as follows:

Monday, Aug 25: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug 26: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug 27: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Thursday, Aug 28: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Friday, Aug 29: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, Sept 1: Holiday, University Closed Tuesday, Sept 2: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept 3: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Thursday, Sept 4: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Friday, Sept 5: 9 a.m. to noon

Extended Hours

College Advising Units, EUP, Admissions and the Registrar’s Office will be open until 6pm on September 2-4.

Upcoming Dates:

  • Tuesday, August 19—Final grades due at noon

  • Monday, August 25 to Friday, September 5—One Stop

  • Tuesday, August 26 to Friday, August 29—Fall Welcome

  • Monday, September 1—Labor Day recess

  • Tuesday, September 2—Fall classes begin

  • Monday, September 8—Last day to drop/add

  • Tuesday, September 9—Census

  • Wednesday, September 10--$100 late fee begins

  • Thursday, September 11—Last day to receive a 90% refund for complete withdraw

  • Monday, September 15—Last day to receive a 50% refund for a partial withdraw

  • Friday, September 26—Last day to receive a 50% refund for a complete withdraw

  • Sunday, September 28—First work grades due

  • Wednesday, October 22—Last day to receive a 25% refund for a complete withdraw

  • Sunday, October 26—Midterm grades due

  • Monday, November 3—Last day to withdraw

  • Wednesday, November 26—Thanksgiving recess starts at noon

  • Monday, December 1—Classes resume

  • Tuesday, Dec. 16—Final grades due at noon