WMU News

New Phi Beta Kappa chapter officers selected

January 29, 1998

KALAMAZOO -- Five Western Michigan University faculty members have been selected as the first officers of the University's new chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

They are: Dr. John W. Petro, chairperson of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, president; Dr. Emily I. Hauptmann, assistant professor of political science, vice president; Dr. Joseph G. Reish, dean of the Lee Honors College, secretary; Dr. Annette N. Brown, assistant professor of economics, treasurer; and Dr. Catherine J. Julien, assistant professor of history, historian.

The formal election of officers will take place as part of the chapter's installation ceremonies Monday, Feb. 23, in Shaw Theatre. All were selected as Phi Beta Kappa members while undergraduates.

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most widely recognized academic honor society in the country, seeks to foster and recognize excellence in undergraduate liberal arts and sciences. WMU, which was selected to shelter a Phi Beta Kappa charter just this past fall, is one of only 91 public universities in the nation and one of only four public universities in Michigan to be so honored.

During the installation ceremonies, 70 current and retired faculty and staff members will be recognized as charter members of WMU's new Theta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. The first group of students will be inducted into the society in a separate initiation ceremony scheduled for Wednesday, April 1.

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400