WMU News

Trustees approve retirements of 10 faculty, two staff members

June 25, 1999

KALAMAZOO -- The retirements of 10 members of the faculty and two staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its June 25 meeting.

The faculty members retiring with emeriti status, along with their years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are: Dr. Richard Dieker, professor of communication, 35-1/2 years, effective Jan. 1, 2002; Dr. Elwood B. Ehrle, professor of biological sciences, 19-1/2 years, effective Dec. 31, 1999; Dr. Howard E. Farris, professor of psychology, 33-1/2 years, effective Jan. 3, 2000; Maryellen Hains, 28-1/2 years, effective Jan. 1, 2000; Robert G. Kotecki, assistant professor of teaching learning and leadership, 37 years, effective Aug. 31, 1999; Garrard D. MacLeod, professor and general manager of WMUK, 40 years, effective Dec. 31, 1999; Dr. Richard L. McAnaw, 35 years, effective May 7, 1999; Dr. Larry D. Oppliger, chairperson and professor of science studies, 39 years, effective June 30, 2001; Dr. Shirley Clay Scott, dean of the Graduate College and professor of English, 29 years, effective June 30, 1999; and Dr. Carol Payne Smith, professor of teaching, learning and leadership, 35-1/2 years, effective Jan. 1, 2000.

The staff members retiring are: Louis R. Guminski, a compositor in Brink Printing Services, 34 years, effective June 30, 1999; and Nelson P. Shippers, a licensed plumber in the maintenance services area of physical plant, 34 years, effective June 30, 1999.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400