WMU News

Twelve staff members honored

March 10, 2000

Twelve outstanding campus employees have been selected to receive semiannual Staff Service Excellence Awards.
Each winner will receive a $100 prize and a commemorative certificate.

Two award recipients are from the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees group. They are Doreen Cooks, Henry-Hoekje-Bigelow dining service, and Betty Veer, Valley III dining service.

Another five award recipients are from the clerical/technical ranks. They are James Barton, Development Office/Advancement Services; Teri Coburn, Sindecuse Health Center/sports medicine; Lori (Lorinda) Klingele, biological sciences; Cris (Natalia) Obreiter, Rural Health Education Project; and Debra White, Haworth College of Business academic advising and admissions.

A total of five recipients from the professional/technical/administrative ranks also are among this round of award recipients. They are: Susan Coker, teaching, learning and leadership; Marcia Ellis, Sindecuse Health Center; Thomas Lentz, continuing education/Grand Rapids Regional Center; Julie Scott, Office of Information Technology/statistical computing services; and Ron Stewart, Intercollegiate Athletics/women's basketball.

Staff Service Excellence Award recipients are nominated by their peers, and selected by another group of peers, to recognize excellence in service and performance above and beyond job requirements.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 616 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400