WMU News

Phi Theta Kappa scholarship recipients named

Aug. 4, 2000

KALAMAZOO -- Nine students named recipients of Phi Theta Kappa Alumni Scholarships from Western Michigan University.

This $3,000 award is given to transfer students from community colleges who were members of Phi Theta Kappa, the international community college honor society, at their college. They must have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average. Recommendations of chapter advisors, scholarship applications and essays were reviewed in the selection process.

Listed below are the scholarship recipient's name, hometown, college from which he or she earned an associate's degree, and intended program of study at WMU. All of this year's recipients are from Michigan.

Emily Berndt, Escanaba, Bay de Noc Community College, nursing

Lisa Bowser, Cassopolis, Southwestern Michigan College, secondary education

Julia Cawood, Monroe, Monroe County Community College, biomedical sciences

Briana Conroy, Haslett, Lansing Community College, elementary education

Jaimie Cross, Centreville, Glen Oaks Community College, elementary education

Imre Kaufmannvianney, Burlington, Kellogg Community College, liberal education

Judy Martin, St. Joseph, Lake Michigan College, biomedical sciences

Abbie Root, Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo Valley Community College, elementary education

Bradley Sandberg, Plymouth, Schoolcraft College, secondary education

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 616 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400