WMU News

Ten transfer students receive $6,000 scholarships

Aug. 3, 2000

KALAMAZOO -- Ten transfer students were named recipients of Distinguished Community College Scholars Awards from Western Michigan University. Each award totals $6,000 over two years. To be eligible, students must have earned at least a 3.75 grade point average and received an associate's degree at a Michigan community college. Selection is based on scholarship, leadership and school and community service.

Listed below are the scholarship recipient's name, hometown, college from which he or she earned an associate's degree, and intended program of study at WMU.

Brandi Bonney, Port Huron, Saint Clair County Community College, business administration

Cari Burke, Benzonia, Northwestern Michigan College, business administration

Meleia Evans, Portage, Kalamazoo Valley Community College, elementary education

Cindy Hagelgans, Centreville, Glen Oaks Community College, elementary education

Jacob Lator, Laingsburg, Lansing Community College, secondary education

Laurie Overton, Decatur, Southwestern Michigan College, liberal education

Michael Paulson, Fruitport, Muskegon Community College, liberal education

Amy Pelletier, Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo Valley Community College, secondary education

Douglas Purucker, Niles, Southwestern Michigan College, political science

Andrea Smalley, Berrien Spring, Lake Michigan College, political science

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 616 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400