WMU News

Trustees approve five retirements

Dec. 8, 2000

KALAMAZOO -- The retirements of three faculty members and two staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its Dec. 8 meeting. Trustees also accepted the resignations of one faculty member and one staff member.

All of the faculty members who are retiring are doing so with emeriti status. Their names, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are Helen J. Healy, associate professor of University libraries, 36 years, effective Dec. 31, 2000; Dr. Carol L. Stamm, associate vice president for academic affairs and professor of management, 19-1/2 years, effective Jan. 2, 2001; and Dr. Kenneth L. Williams, professor of computer science, 28 years, effective April 30, 2001.

The staff members retiring are: James D. Kirklin, director of instructional technology, 40 years, effective Jan. 13, 2001; and Michael A. Weber, payroll department manager, 35 years, effective Nov. 13, 2000.

The faculty member resigning is Dr. Katherine E. Matas, associate professor of nursing, effective Dec. 22, 2000.

The staff member resigning is Dr. Diane R. Berty, assistant vice president for student affairs and director of the Sindecuse Health Center, effective Nov. 7, 2000.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 616 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400