WMU News

HPER faculty shine at national convention

April 25, 2001

KALAMAZOO -- Faculty in Western Michigan University's Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation were recognized at the recent national convention of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

Department chairperson Dr. Debra S. Berkey was awarded the Midwest District Honor Award, which is given to those who demonstrate devotion to the profession and provide meritorious service and leadership for at least 10 years. It is the highest award bestowed by the district.

Dr. Jiabei Zhang, assistant professor of HPER, was recognized as an inductee and research consortium fellow for the alliance. Zhang also presented his research on motor behavior and social populations, examining the shortage of school recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists in the United States.

Two other faculty members, Dr. Marianne Frauenknecht and Dr. Jody A. Brylinsky, conducted workshops at the event. Frauenknecht conducted a one-day workshop on preparing to meet national accreditation standards, while Brylinsky's workshop explored coaching accreditation. The department as a whole was recognized as meeting standards set by the National Association for Sport and Physical Education and the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education.

HPER faculty members Dr. Ray T. Cool and Dr. William C. Gross also attended the convention March 27-31 in Cincinnati, as did several undergraduate and graduate students from WMU.

Media contact: Mark Schwerin, 616 387-8400, mark.schwerin@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
616 387-8400