WMU News

Staff Service Excellence candidates announced

May 13, 2002

KALAMAZOO -- WMU's Staff Service Excellence Awards Program Selection Committee has announced the candidates for the 2002 annual awards. These 21 individuals are the winners of 2001-02 semiannual awards and are now eligible to win one of four annual awards that will be made this spring, each with a $1,000 prize.

The candidates are: Nancy L. Arneson, office coordinator, Department of Chemistry; Joan E. Ashley, manager, WMU Apartments; Sean M. Bashaw, supervisor, Department of Chemistry Electrical Shop; Sherry K. Bate, administrative specialist, College of Fine Arts; Carol B. Case, gardener, Physical Plant-Landscape Services;

Thomas W. Clark, groundskeeper, Physical Plant-Landscape Services; Dace Copeland, administrative specialist, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Sherrie Y. Fuller, assistant director, Division of Multicultural Affairs; Frances J. Jess, utility food worker, Draper Dining Service; Scott M. Keeler, environmental control worker, Physical Plant-Maintenance Services;

Rena J. Lynema, office associate, Diether H. Haenicke Institute for International and Area Studies; Deborah A. Mitchell, first cook, Bernhard Center Dining Service; Karin H. Moses, office coordinator, Department of Paper and Printing Science and Engineering; Robert D. Purk, mechanic, Physical Plant-Landscape Services; Pamela D. Ross, senior administrative assistant, Unified Clinics; Marilyn K. Rowe, administrative specialist, College of Arts and Sciences;

Laura L. Sheppard, office associate, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences; Dawn J. VanderPloeg, business operations coordinator, Auxiliary Enterprises; Kevin B. Vichcales, coordinator of graduate student financial assistance, Graduate College; Patricia A. (Brown) Weber, office coordinator, Department of Finance and Commercial Law; and Kathryn A. Wright, office coordinator, Department of Geosciences.

The prestigious award is reserved for WMU's most outstanding staff employees-those who reach far beyond their assigned responsibilities to give generously and creatively of their time and talents, making the University an even finer place to work and study. Only four of these outstanding coworkers can be selected to win an annual award. Winners will be selected by a committee, comprised of one representative from each employee group. The committee will review any new information submitted for the candidates, as well as the previously-submitted semiannual nominations. There is no need to resubmit these nominations.

Employees who wish to provide additional information in support of any candidate may do so until May 17. Any such additional information must include specific examples of how the candidate has exhibited excellence that far exceeds normal job expectations.

The committee will select four of these candidates to win a Staff Service Excellence Annual Award. Annual award winners will be announced in June.

Additional information in support of any candidate may be submitted until May 17 to Kitty Scheffers in human resources by memo through campus mail, via e-mail to <kitty.scheffers@wmich.edu> or by fax sent to 387-3441.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 269 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400