WMU News

Faculty Senate announces officers, senators

May 28, 2002

The introduction of 22 new and re-elected senators and the election of members to the senate's five councils took place at the WMU Faculty Senate's annual meeting May 9 at the Fetzer Center.

The senators whose terms had expired were recognized by outgoing Faculty Senate President Ralph Tanner, electrical and computer engineering. The new senators were welcomed by the new president, Peter Krawutschke, foreign languages and literatures. Krawutschke was elected this past spring to succeed Tanner in heading the senate. Mary Lagerwey, nursing, was elected vice president. Tanner will continue on for one year as past president of the senate.

The new senators and the units they represent are: Richard Underwood, College of Aviation; Nina Nelson, dance; G. Thomas Ray, educational studies; Richard Zinser, family and consumer sciences, C.R. Krishna-Swamy, finance and commercial law; Carolyn Podruchny, history; Marcia Kingsley, University libraries; Peter Parker, paper and printing science and engineering; and C. Richard Spates, psychology.

Those senators who were re-elected and the units they represent are: David Hurtt, accountancy; Nancy Schullery, business information systems; Marc Perkovic, chemistry; C. Dennis Simpson, community health services; Donna Talbot, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dean Johnson, electrical and computer engineering; Judith Rypma, English; Matthew Mingus, public affairs and administration; Van Cooley, teaching, learning and leadership; and Delores Walcott, University Counseling and Testing Center.

Three representatives-at-large also were elected. Thomas Amos, University libraries was elected as a new senator, while Sisay Asefa, economics, and Peter Krawutschke were both re-elected to their posts.

Also at the Faculty Senate annual meeting, three directors were elected to the senate's executive board: Dasha Nisula, foreign languages and literatures; Van Cooley, teaching, learning and leadership; and Leander Jones, Africana studies.

In addition, new members were elected by ballot to five senate councils. Those councils and their new members are:

Campus Planning and Finance Council: Sandra Edwards, occupational therapy; Richard Gershon, communication; and David Lemberg, geography.

Graduate Studies Council: Evelyn Clingerman, nursing; Chansheng He, geography; Mushtaq Luqmani, marketing; and Charles Stroh, art.

Research Policies Council: David Code, music; Paula Kohler, educational studies; and Judy Sadler, nursing.

Technology and Operations Council: Howard Poole, educational studies, and Peter Parker. Undergraduate Studies Council: Sandra Glista, speech pathology and audiology; Lisa Whittaker, aviation sciences; Georgina Hill, English; and Tarun Gupta, industrial and manufacturing engineering.

Media contact: Marie Lee, 269 387-8400, marie.lee@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400