WMU News

Chamber Orchestra concert features Knific string solo

Oct. 16, 2002

KALAMAZOO -- The WMU Chamber Orchestra will perform Vivaldi's "Four Seasons" with guest soloist Renata Artman Knific, WMU professor of violin, Wednesday, Oct. 30, in the Dalton Center Recital Hall at 8:15 p.m.

Also included in the free, public concert is Haydn's 44th Symphony, the "Trauer" or "Tragic." Written during his "Sturm und Drang" (Storm and Stress) period, No. 44 is one of the finest examples of the turbulent works from this part of Haydn's creative output.

Knific is the violinist with the Merling Trio. She is an internationally renowned soloist, chamber musician and pedagogue.

Media contact: Kevin West, 269 387-4678, kevin.west@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400