WMU News

'W' Club names man and woman of the year

Jan. 13, 2003

KALAMAZOO - Dr. Ruth Ann Meyer, who served for three decades on the Western Michigan University faculty and guided women's athletics during its formative years and Fletcher R. Lewis, a two-sports standout at WMU, who advanced athletics and physical education at Kalamazoo Public Schools, have been named 2003 Woman and Man of the Year by the WMU "W" Varsity Club.

Both recipients will be honored at halftime of the WMU men's basketball game against Akron on Jan. 25. A pre-game reception will also be held in the conference rooms at University Arena. To make reservations, contact Irene Bracken at (269) 387-3062.

Meyer worked as an associate professor in the Department of Health, Physical Education and
Recreation from 1965 until her retirement in 1998. She taught undergraduate courses in professional activity and theory, in addition to graduate classes in administration.

A native of Aplinton, Iowa, Meyer was a trailblazer for WMU women's athletics. Appointed assistant athletic director in 1972, she was responsible for increasing opportunities for women in both intercollegiate and intramural sports programs. Meyer also served as WMU's volleyball coach from 1965 to 1975, generating a record of 115-82. She was inducted into the WMU Athletic Hall of Fame in 1993 and the Northern Iowa Athletic Hall of Fame in 2000. Meyer earned a bachelor's degree from Northern Iowa, a master's from Northern Colorado and her doctorate from Iowa.

Lewis has had a positive influence on the lives of many Kalamazoo area youths, spending a lengthy career as a Kalamazoo Public Schools teacher, consultant and administrator. He oversaw development of KPS athletics for a quarter century in addition to being named KPS Administrator of the Year and president.

A two-sport athlete at WMU, Lewis earned a pair of varsity letters in football (1957-58) and track and field (1958-59), serving as co-captain for both sports. He later became an assistant track coach for the Broncos.

Lewis received undergraduate and master's degrees from WMU and has been a supporter of WMU's Mike Gary Athletic Fund since 1972. The Chicago native has coached at the elementary, middle, high school and collegiate levels. He was inducted into the Bangor High School Hall of Fame and is an active member of the Bible Baptist Church.

'W' Club Women and Men of the Year

2003 Dr. Ruth Ann Meyer and Fletcher R. Lewis
2002 Gayl Werme and Jack Moss
2001 Jean Friedel and Orville F. Schneider
2000 Fran Ebert and Don Boven
1999 Lois Ellis and Vern Davis
1998 Betsy Kuhle and Willard Brown
1997 Teresa Jackson-Knoechel and Kurt Bartarian
1996 Katharine Werme-Hermsen and Bob Ezelle
1995 Margaret Lillie-Smith and Charles "Bud" Brotebeck
1994 Kayla Skelly and Bernard Saunders
1993 Carol Ann Homad-Davis and Mike Deitz
1992 Chris Juszczyk and John Miller
1991 Kim Poteau and Fred Decker
1990 Kim Worden and Rudel Miller

Since 1967 'W' Club has presented a Man of the Year award. Since 1990, awards have also been presented for Woman of the Year.

Media contact: Daniel Jankowski, 269 387-4138, daniel.jankowski@wmich.edu

Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400