WMU News

Faculty and staff retirements approved

June 30, 2004

KALAMAZOO--The retirements of two faculty members and six staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its June 30 meeting. Trustees also accepted the resignations of four faculty members.

Both of the faculty members retiring are doing so with emeriti status. Their names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are: Dr. Miriam Bat-Ami, professor of English, 15 years, effective July 31, 2005, and Dr. Arthur W. Helweg, professor of anthropology, 32-1/2 years, effective April 10, 2005.

The staff members retiring are: Seymour K. Cook, custodian in physical plant-building, custodial and support services, 12-1/2 years, effective Sept. 30, 2004; Darlene J. Earl, finance assistant in accounts payable, 15 years, effective Sept. 30, 2004; Timothy E. Kahler, material handler in physical plant-landscape services, 32-1/2 years, effective July 31, 2004; Mable L. Moncrief, custodian in physical plant-building, custodial and support services, 14-1/2 years, effective April 30, 2004; Karin H. Moses, office coordinator in the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, 19-1/2 years, effective Aug. 31, 2004; and Garry W. Vander Ploeg, director of telecommunications in the Office of Information Technology, 15 years, effective July 27, 2004.

The faculty members resigning are: Dr. E. Jane Davidson, assistant professor of sociology and of the Evaluation Center, effective Aug. 1, 2004; Ako Fukushima, faculty specialist I in foreign languages, effective April 30, 2004; Dr. Johnny L. Pherigo, professor of music and director of the School of Music's performing arts administrative program, effective July 4, 2004; and Dr. Brian F. Schaffner, assistant professor of political science, effective Aug. 1, 2004.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400