WMU News

Promotions of 23 faculty members approved

June 30, 2004

KALAMAZOO--The promotions of 23 faculty members at Western Michigan University were approved June 30 by the WMU Board of Trustees.

Eighteen faculty members were promoted to the rank of full professor and two to associate professor. In addition, one faculty member was promoted to master faculty specialist and two others to faculty specialist II. All of the promotions are effective with the beginning of the 2004-05 academic year.

The faculty members and their academic areas, by the academic rank or position to which they are being promoted, are:

Professor--Dr. Lisa E. Baker, psychology; Dr. Robert J. Bensley, health physical education and recreation; Dr. Steven B. Bertman, chemistry; Dr. David J. Flanagan, management; Dr. Wendy Z. Ford, communication; Dr. Janos L. Grantner, electrical and computer engineering; Dr. Rand H. Johnson, foreign languages; Dr. William W. Liou, mechanical and aeronautical engineering; Dr. Steven B. Malcolm, biological sciences; Dr. Larry A. Mallak, industrial and manufacturing engineering; Dr. Subra Muralidharan, chemistry; Dr. Joshua Naranjo, statistics; Dr. Michael Nassaney, anthropology; Dr. Sam N. Ramrattan, industrial and manufacturing engineering; Mary E. Ross, University Libraries; Dr. Susan R. Stapleton, chemistry; Dr. Edmond Tsang, mechanical and aeronautical engineering; and Dr. Brian Wilson, comparative religion.

Associate professor-- Dr. Gary Bischof, counselor education and counseling psychology; Dr. Lynn Brice, teaching learning and leadership; David Curwen, dance; Dr. Toby Daspit, teaching, learning and leadership; Dr. Susan Hoffman, political science; Dr. Gregory Howard, sociology; Dr. Yvette Hyter, speech pathology and audiology; Dr. Margaret Joyce, paper engineering, chemical engineering and imaging; Dr. Karlis Kaugars, computer science; Dr. Ronald Larson, marketing; Dr. Matthew Mingus, public affairs and administration; Dr. James Muchmore, teaching learning and leadership; Dr. Lawrence T. Potter, Africana studies; Dr. Elke Schoffers, chemistry; Dr. Laura T. Spielvogel, anthropology; Thomas Swartz, industrial and manufacturing engineering; Vince Torano, school of art; and Dr. James Visser, public affairs and administration.

Master faculty specialist--Berit G. Miller, occupational therapy.

Faculty specialist II--Jerrie L. Fiala, industrial and manufacturing engineering, and Laurie E. Hays, accountancy.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400