WMU News

First Make A Difference award recipients announced

Nov. 30, 2004

KALAMAZOO--Ten Western Michigan University staff members have been selected to receive the first semiannual Make a Difference awards and will be recognized at a public ceremony Friday, Dec. 3, at 2 p.m. in the Bernhard Center Faculty Lounge.

Award recipients are Amy Burns, College of Education; George Eskro, Career & Student Employment Services; Marilyn Johnson, Haworth College of Business; Donna Mearing, Center for Academic Support Programs; Natalia Obreiter, Department of Military Science; Robert Purk, Landscape Services; Kathleen Springsteen, College of Education; Chad Stec, Information Services in the Division of Student Affairs; Sandra Stephens, College of Education; and Judy Tice, Haworth College of Business.

Each semiannual award winner receives a commemorative certificate and a $250 cash award. The fall 2004 winners were selected by a committee of peer represetatives from the participating employee groups: Fran Buell and Don Weaver representing the American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees; Michele Cole and Chris McDowell, Administrative Professional Association; Jeff Landers, Michigan State Employees' Association; Carol Dedow, Police Officers Association; and the Professional Support Staff Organization represented by Nancy Arneson and Teri Cleveland.

The new Make A Difference awards were introduced this fall by WMU President Judith I. Bailey. The program is a campuswide peer-to-peer recognition for university staff members for their outstanding accomplishments and daily investment of energy and creativity. Up to 15 staff members may be selected in each of two semiannual award periods. Those winners are eligible for one of four annual awards, which include a $1000 cash prize.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, 269 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400