WMU News

Seven staff retirements approved

Feb. 23, 2005

KALAMAZOO--The retirements of seven staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its Feb. 18 meeting. Trustees also accepted the resignations of five faculty members.

The names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement for the staff members ending their careers at WMU are: Wendy C. Asmus, academic advisor, College of Education, 21 years, effective March 4, 2005; Jon O. Flegel, stage technician, Miller Auditorium, 37-1/2 years, effective June 30, 2005; Rachel Johnson, office assistant, Extended University Programs, 13 years, effective April 30, 2005; Linda Jones, assistant to the president, Office of the President, 19 years, effective Jan. 30, 2005; David A. Morris, admissions systems specialist, Office of Admissions and Orientation, 39-1/2 years, effective May 14, 2005; Gloria J. Mulhearn, office assistant, Division of Intercollegiate Athletics, 26 years, effective Feb. 28, 2005; and Kay A. Shearer, office coordinator, Mallinson Institute for Science Education, 18-1/2 years, effective March 31, 2005.

The faculty and staff members resigning are: Amanda J. Gruden, faculty specialist I, College of Aviation, effective Feb. 7, 2005; Charles Lo Verme, associate professor of art, effective Jan. 2, 2005; Eileen B. McPartland, assistant professor in the University Counseling and Testing Center, effective Dec. 7, 2003; William Andrew Miller, assistant professor of music, effective July 31, 2005; and Dr. Regina E. Spellers, assistant professor of communication, effective Nov. 17, 2004.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
269 387-8400