WMU News

Alumni Association selects 2005-06 leadership

Aug. 3, 2005

KALAMAZOO--Twelve officers, executive committee members and directors have been elected to terms on the 2005-06 Western Michigan University Alumni Association Board of Directors, effective July 1.

The following four board members have been elected to one-year terms as officers.

President--Dale Tanis of Hamilton, Mich., is chief financial officer/senior vice president of finance at the Irwin Seating Co. in Grand Rapids, Mich. Tanis earned two degrees from WMU, a bachelor of business administration in 1974 and a master of business administration in 1984. First elected to the board in 2000, he was vice president last year and has served two terms as treasurer and been chairperson of the Finance Committee as well as a member of the Executive and Scholarship committees.

Vice president--Kirk Hoffman of Jackson, Mich., is vice president of planning services for the King Trust Co. in Spring Arbor, Mich. Hoffman earned a BBA degree from WMU in 1986. First elected to the board in 2001, he has served as treasurer and chairperson of the Finance Committee as well as a member of the Scholarship and Marketing committees.

Treasurer--Richard D. Bailey II of Dewitt, Mich., is president of commercial banking at Republic Bank in Lansing, Mich. Bailey earned an MBA degree from WMU in 1985. First elected to the board in 2003, he has served on the Executive, Finance and Scholarship committees.

Past president--Anitta Rutherford Orr of Detroit, is a retired speech therapist for the Detroit Public Schools. Orr earned a bachelor of science degree from WMU in 1966. She was first elected to the WMU Alumni Association board in 1972, serving until 1977. Orr was elected to a second stint on the board in 2000 and in addition to president, served as vice president (2003-04) and a member of the Executive, Finance and Distinguished Alumni committees.

Four directors also were elected to one-year terms on the WMU Alumni Association's Executive Committee. Joining the organization's officers on this committee are: Richard Annen of San Diego, BBA 1974, a partner in the San Diego-based law firm Sparber Rudolph Annen APLC; Debra Jones-McConnell of Southfield, Mich., BBA 1981, client advisor and vice president at J.P. Morgan in Detroit; Marcia Koestner of Plainwell, Mich., B.S. 1974 and master of arts 1985, vice president of human resources for Checker Motors Corp. in Kalamazoo; and Susan Neumann of Boise, Idaho, bachelor of arts 1976 and M.A. 1984, senior vice president of corporate communications, public affairs at Albertsons Inc. in Boise.

Additionally, four WMU alumni were elected to their first three-year terms on the board as directors. They are: Philip Chludzinski of Kalamazoo, BBA 1980, CPA and partner at Brink, Key & Chludzinski P.C. of Portage, Mich.; Guk Keong Low of Grand Rapids, Mich., BBA 1999, senior international financial analyst at the Irwin Seating Holding Co. in Grand Rapids; L. Ronald Portser of Bloomfield Hills, Mich., B.S. 1960, retired director of GM-NAO, General Motors; and Wendy Westbrooks of Southfield, Mich., B.A. 1994, physician medical resident in Southfield.

The WMU Alumni Association, with more than 13,000 dues-paying members throughout the world, serves the University and its graduates by providing alumni with a continuous link to WMU and each other. For more information about the association, visit www.wmich.edu/alumni.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, (269) 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400