WMU News

WMU alters academic calendar to cut energy costs

Sept. 27, 2005

KALAMAZOO--With recent national events expected to lead to substantial increases in winter energy costs, Western Michigan University's administration and faculty agreed Sept. 26 to implement changes to the 2005-06 academic calendar designed to curtail those increases.

WMU's winter closure will begin Monday, Dec. 19, and continue until University offices reopen on Thursday, Jan. 5. The new start date for the spring semester is now Monday, Jan. 9. The spring start date is one week later than previously scheduled, and will result in spring finals week and commencement being pushed back one week later in April. The University's spring break week dates will remain the same.

By moving the winter closure back and starting the spring semester one week later, the University will realize substantial savings in energy costs, according to Robert Beam, vice president for business and finance.

The delayed start to the spring semester will bring an additional benefit for students. They will not be required to return to campus over the New Year's holiday weekend, which is one of the most intense travel periods of the year.

Key dates in the revised 2005-06 academic calendar

Spring semester course information available in GoWMU Monday, Oct. 17.

Spring semester course registration begins in GoWMU Tuesday, Nov. 1.

Winter closure begins Monday, Dec. 19.

University offices reopen Thursday, Jan. 5.

Residence halls reopen Saturday, Jan. 7.

Spring semester classes begin Monday, Jan. 9, at 4 p.m.

Spring recess is Monday, Feb. 27, through Friday, March 3.

Spring final exam week begins Monday, April 24.

Spring commencement is Saturday, April 29.

Summer I classes are Monday, May 8, through Wednesday, June 28.

Summer commencement is Saturday, July 1.

Summer II classes are Thursday, June 29, through Friday, Aug.18.

Fall semester classes begin Tuesday, Sept. 5, at 8 a.m.

GoWMU is the University's secure intranet portal serving students, faculty and staff. A Bronco NetID (user ID) and password are needed to access GoWMU.

Other dates in the academic calendar, such as deadlines to "drop/add" courses, also are changing. Academic calendars for 2005 through 2009, with the latest available information, are available on the Web at www.wmich.edu/registrar/calendar.html.

Schedule changes for various campus services and facilities may also be adjusted. Sindecuse Health Center, for instance, will be open from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Dec. 19, 21 and 22 and Jan. 3. Sindecuse will resume normal business hours Jan. 5.

Media contact: Cheryl Roland, (269) 387-8400, cheryl.roland@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400