WMU Home > About WMU > WMU News

WMU News

Trustees approve 14 retirements, five resignations

Dec. 28, 2005

KALAMAZOO--The retirements of three faculty members and 11 staff members were approved by the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees at its Dec. 9 meeting. Trustees also accepted the resignations of three faculty members as well as one administrative staff member, who will be returning to the faculty.

All of the faculty members who are retiring are doing so with emeriti status. Their names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are: Dr. M. Arthur Garmon, associate professor of teaching, learning and leadership, 10-1/2 years, effective Jan. 5, 2007; Dr. Thomas L. Gossman, professor of finance and commercial law, 36 years, effective Dec. 19, 2006; and Dr. Benjamin C. Wilson, professor of Africana Studies, 30-1/2 years, effective May 1, 2006.

The staff members retiring are: Wesley Apotheker, millwright maintenance mechanic in physical plant-maintenance services, 36 years, effective Oct. 31, 2005; Eileen J. Boven, custodian in physical plant-building, custodial and support services, 26-1/2 years, effective April 30, 2006; Hugh O. Carpenter, pipefitter in physical plant-maintenance services, 24 years, effective March 31, 2006; Janet L. Clubb, custodian in physical plant-building, custodial and support services, 12 years, effective Dec. 31, 2005; M. Theodore Edgerly, power plant mechanic I, 10 years, effective Nov. 30, 2005; Dr. Stephen M. Ferguson, accelerator physicist in the Department of Physics, 31-1/2 years, effective March 31, 2006; Bonnie L. Hanson, assistant director of residence life and coordinator of community living, 26-1/2 years, effective Feb. 28, 2006; Norma J, Hayes, director of the College of Arts and Sciences academic advising office, 19-1/2 years, effective Feb. 28, 2006; Joyce E. Papesh, budget officer in the university budgets and financial planning office, 41-1/2 years, effective Jan. 28, 2006; Maralita S. Thomas, photocopy operator in the College of Arts and Sciences, 19-1/2 years, effective Jan. 31, 2006; and Donald A. Weaver, master gardener in physical plant-landscape services, 20-1/2 years, effective March 31, 2006.

The faculty members resigning are: Dr. Georgina B. Hill, master faculty specialist in the Department of English, effective Dec. 10, 2005; Dr. Paula W. Jamison, assistant professor of occupational therapy, effective April 22, 2006; Dr. Karen H. Morin, professor of nursing, effective Dec. 31, 2005; and Ellen M. Van Arsdale, faculty specialist II in the Bronson School of Nursing, effective Dec. 31, 2005.

The one staff member resigning is Dr. John H. Coons, director of the University Counseling and Testing Center, who returned to the faculty as an associate professor, effective Nov. 1, 2005.

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, 269 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400