WMU Home > WMU News

WMU News

WMU News on Twitter

Distinguished scholar nominations due

Oct. 18, 2009

KALAMAZOO--Nominations are due Friday, Jan. 22, for Western Michigan University's Distinguished Faculty Scholar Awards program.

Guidelines and nomination forms
Distinguished Faculty Scholar Awards

Up to three Distinguished Faculty Scholars may be named in any given year. Those selected during the 2010 award cycle will be honored at a ceremony yet to be scheduled.

The Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award is based on outstanding professional achievements. These accomplishments may be artistic, historical, literary, philosophical, scientific or technical, but wide recognition beyond WMU is essential.

Each award recipient receives a $2,000 honorarium that becomes part of the faculty member's base salary, a plaque, and the opportunity to present a lecture, exhibition or performance to the University community.

All current, continuing board-appointed full- and part-time employees with faculty rank are eligible to receive the award. However, they must have at least seven academic years of service to WMU and may not receive the award twice.

For more information about the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award, contact Ernst Breisach, professor emeritus of history and chair of the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award Committee, at ebreisach@sbcglobal.net or (269) 344-1734.

Share |

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, (269) 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400