WMU Home > WMU News

WMU News

WMU News on Twitter

Twelve receive semiannual staff awards

April 7, 2010

KALAMAZOO--Twelve Western Michigan University staff members have been selected to receive Make a Difference awards for spring 2009-10.

The awards will be presented during a reception at 2 p.m. Monday, April 19, in Rooms 157-158 of the Bernhard Center. The University community is invited to attend the reception, during which the award recipients each will receive $250 and a commemorative certificate.

Spring 2010 Make a Difference honorees

  • Donna "Kim" Ballard, director of the Writing Center in the Center for Academic Success Programs
  • John Carr, receiving clerk for the WMU Bookstore
  • Lillian Love, office associate for First-Year Experience Programs
  • Thuy Martin, utility food worker for Dining Services-Bernhard Center
  • Eric McConnell, office associate for the Advocacy Office for Transfer Students and Military Affairs in the Center for Academic Success Programs
  • Raymond Novess, construction administrator for Facilities Management-construction services
  • Gregory Peet, senior library assistant for University Libraries
  • Stephen Root, grounds supervisor for Facilities Management-landscape services
  • Dion VanAtter, athletic equipment coordinator II for the Division of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Margaret von Steinen, manager of communications and the Prague Summer Program for the Haenicke Institute for Global Education
  • Jessie Wagner, career advisor for the Haworth College of Business Career Center
  • Adam Wall, residence hall director for the Office of Residence Life

The WMU Make a Difference awards program is a campuswide peer-to-peer program that recognizes University staff members for their outstanding accomplishments and daily investment of energy and creativity.

Up to 15 staff members may be selected in each of two semiannual award periods. Semiannual award winners are eligible for one of four annual awards, which carry a $1,000 prize.

The winners are selected by a committee of their peers from the following participating WMU employee groups: Administrative Professional Association; American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees; Michigan State Employees Association; Police Officers Association; and Professional Support Staff Organization.

For more information about the committee and the Make a Difference Award program, visit Make a Difference online.

Share |

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, (269) 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400