WMU Home > WMU News

WMU News

WMU News on Twitter

Broncos release men's basketball schedule

Sept. 2, 2010

KALAMAZOO--In its upcoming 2010-11 season, the Western Michigan University men's basketball team will face seven of last year's post-season participants, including three NCAA Tournament teams.

Photo of WMU men's basketball player Nate Hutcheson.Basketball fans can preview this year's team at one of two pre-season exhibition matches at University Arena:

  • Tuesday, Nov. 2, 7 p.m., versus Spring Arbor
  • Saturday, Nov. 6, 2 p.m., versus Kalamazoo College

WMU opens its regular season Nov. 12 in Cincinnati against Atlantic-10 co-champion and NCAA Sweet 16 participant Xavier. Another challenging point in the schedule is the World Vision Basketball Invitational Dec. 21-23, where the Broncos will take on Western Athletic Conference champion and NCAA Tournament participant Utah State. WMU also plays 2010 Mid-American Conference Tournament champion Ohio Feb. 12 at University Arena.

The Broncos' home opener is Nov. 20 versus regional rival Loyola-Chicago. The highlight of the home schedule takes place one week later, when WMU and Big Ten team Illinois play at University Arena. WMU will become only the third MAC team to host the Illini, who were recently ranked 15th in the nation by Andy Katz of ESPN.com.

WMU has a total of 15 home games this year, including one Dec. 8 against in-state rival Detroit, a New Year's Eve match versus Eastern Illinois, and a new series against South Dakota State Dec. 18. WMU will welcome a mystery opponent to University Arena Feb. 19 for the ESPN BracketBusters. The Broncos' final regular-season home game is March 2 against Ball State.

The 2011 MAC Tournament begins with first-round games at campus locations March 8, and moves to Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland March 10-12.

2010-11 Bronco men's basketball home schedule
All contests take place in University Arena.

  • Saturday, Nov. 20, 7 p.m. Loyola-Chicago
  • Saturday, Nov. 27, 2 p.m., Illinois
  • Saturday, Dec. 4, 2 p.m. Alma
  • Wednesday, Dec. 8, 7 p.m., Detroit
  • Saturday, Dec. 18, 2 p.m., South Dakota State
  • Friday, Dec. 31, time TBA, Eastern Illinois
  • Sunday, Jan. 9, 2 p.m., Central Michigan
  • Sunday, Jan. 16, 2 p.m., Eastern Michigan
  • Saturday, Jan. 22, 2 p.m., Northern Illinois
  • Tuesday, Jan. 25, 7 p.m., Buffalo
  • Wednesday, Feb. 2, 7 p.m., Kent State
  • Saturday, Feb. 12, 4 p.m., Ohio
  • Saturday, Feb. 19, time TBA, ESPN BracketBuster
  • Wednesday, Feb. 23, 7 p.m., Toledo
  • Wednesday, March 2, 7 p.m., Ball State

For more information, including the complete home-and-away schedule and to order individual and season tickets, visit wmubroncos.com/mbasketball.

Share |

Media contact: Matt Holmes, (269) 387-3168, matt.holmes@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400