WMU Home > WMU News

WMU News

WMU News on Twitter

Seven staffers to be honored at campuswide reception

Nov. 22, 2010

KALAMAZOO--Seven Western Michigan University staff members have been selected to receive Make a Difference awards for fall 2010-11.

The awards will be presented during a reception at 2 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 2, in the Bernhard Center's West Ballroom. The University community is invited to attend the reception, during which the award recipients each will receive a before-tax prize of $300 and a commemorative certificate.

Fall 2010 semiannual honorees

  • Kathleen Cantley, Facilities Management-landscape services
  • Dannie Alexander, intercollegiate athletics
  • Brynne Belinger, institutional effectiveness
  • Sheri Harper, Facilities Management-projects and construction
  • Suzette Kohlert, Sindecuse Health Center
  • Conn Macomber, Facilities Management-projects and construction
  • Steven Palmer, residence life

The WMU Make a Difference awards program is a campuswide peer-to-peer program that recognizes University staff members for their outstanding accomplishments and daily investment of energy and creativity.

Up to 15 staff members may receive the award in each of two semiannual award periods every academic year. All semiannual award winners are eligible to receive one of four annual awards carrying a before-tax prize of $1,200 that are bestowed for the academic year.

Make a Difference award recipients are selected by a committee of their peers from the WMU employee groups that participate in the awards program: Administrative Professional Association; American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees; Michigan State Employees Association; Police Officers Association; and Professional Support Staff Organization.

For more information or to make an award nomination, visit Make a Difference on the Web.

Share |

Media contact: Jeanne Baron, (269) 387-8400, jeanne.baron@wmich.edu

WMU News
Office of University Relations
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5433 USA
(269) 387-8400