Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Share |

WMU Frostic Series resumes with Florida novelist

by Mark Schwerin

Oct. 6, 2011 | WMU News

Photo of novelist Sterling Watson.
Sterling Watson
KALAMAZOO--A novelist from Florida will be the next author featured in the fall 2011 Gwen Frostic Reading Series at Western Michigan University.

Sterling Watson, the Peter Meinke Professor of Literature and Creative Writing and Director of the Creative Writing Program at Eckerd College in St. Petersburg, Florida, will read from his works at 8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 13, in Room 157 of the Bernhard Center. His presentation is free and open to the public.

Watson is the author of six novels, "Weep No More My Brother," "The Calling," "Blind Tongues," "Deadly Sweet," "Sweet Dream Baby" and "Fighting in the Shade." He is the recipient of four Florida Fine Arts Council grants for fiction writing and is a fellow of the MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, N.H., and of the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, in Lynchburg, Va.

Watson's short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in Prairie Schooner, The Georgia Review, The Los Angeles Times Book Review, The Chattahoochee Review, The Michigan Quarterly Review and The Southern Review. Watson has received the John M. Bevan Award for Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership and the Lloyd W. Chapin Award for Excellence in Scholarship and the Arts.

The reading series is sponsored by the WMU Department of English.