Undergraduate Advising Excellence Award

Each year, the College of Arts and Sciences at Western Michigan University recognizes one outstanding staff advisor and/or one faculty advisor who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to undergraduate academic advising, innovation in their work, and dedication to the College mission to help students succeed in life and contribute to the betterment of our communities.

Award Information

All awards are subject to final budgetary approval and authorization by the dean of the College.


Feb. 15

This award will be offered for the deadlines listed as long as funds are available.


All part-time or full-time staff advisors are eligible. Any faculty member who serves in an official capacity related to departmental undergraduate advising is eligible.

Awardees are ineligible for future nominations for a period of five years.


Nomination form

Nominations should include:

  • Name and unit of the staff or faculty advisor and the nominator
  • Number of years of service in the role of advisor
  • Statement (250 words or less) detailing how the candidate has demonstrated excellence in undergraduate advising, focused on their commitment to advising and innovation in their work

Nominations may also include statements of support from colleagues, supervisors, students, etc. in the form of memos, letters and emails.


College of Arts and Sciences Office of the Dean:

Submit application as a single PDF, putting the title of the award (Undergraduate Advising Excellence Award) and applicant name in the subject line of the email. Emails from WMU accounts may serve in place of signatures.

Only online submissions accepted.

2020 Recipient

Joshua Koenig, Department of History


Please do not hesitate to contact the College of Arts and Sciences dean’s office with any questions or concerns.

See full list of awards given by the College of Arts and Sciences.