Events

The College of Arts and Sciences at Western Michigan University strives to add value to the lives of its learners and continuously improve the quality of its programming to meet the needs and expectations of the communities it serves. Join us for events that are tailored to your academic interests and help prepare you for the future.

Submitting events for this calendar

Submit your events or news items online to the College of Arts and Sciences. For a series of events, email a list or the web address of the series information to coas-web@wmich.edu.

Submitting events to University Relations

If your event is open to the entire campus community, please share it with University Relations.

If you have CMS access, add an event under Add Content in the CMS. If you do not see that option under Add Content, apply for the reporter role for your section(s).

If you rarely submit events and do not have a Content Management Role for a website, complete the University event form.

Need a conference room for your event?

Reserve a conference room in 2302 or 2307 Friedmann Hall.

College of Arts and Sciences news

Stay up-to-date with the college news.

Upcoming events

Monday, May 27

U.S. Memorial Day—No classes. Many WMU offices closed or on reduced hours.

Friday, June 7

WMU Night at Comerica Park—The Detroit Tigers vs the Minnesota Twins, Stampede Tailgate, 5:30 p.m., on-field festivities, 6:50 p.m., game, 7:10 p.m. The Office of Development and Alumni Relations will charter a bus leaving Kalamazoo at 2 p.m. Registration and fees required for all activities. Visit MyWMU.com/Tigers for more information.

Friday, June 21

Summer solstice (first day of summer)

Wednesday, June 26

Summer I session ends

Thursday, June 27

Summer II session begins

Saturday, June 29

Commencement—Miller Auditorium, times to be announced in May.

Tuesday, July 2

Summer I session grades due

Thursday, July 4

U.S. Independence Day—No classes. Many WMU offices closed or on reduced hours.

Friday, August 16

Summer II session ends

Tuesday, August 20

Summer II session grades due

Saturday, August 24

Fall Welcome

Sunday, August 25

Fall Welcome

Monday, August 26

Advising Day

Fall Welcome

Tuesday, August 27

Advising Day

Fall Welcome

Wednesday, August 28

Fall semester classes begin at 8 a.m.

Monday, September 2

U.S. Labor Day—No classes. Many WMU offices closed or on reduced hours.

Monday, September 9

Multicultural Meet and Greet–An orientation that encourages sense of belonging for students of color at WMU and in the greater Kalamazoo community, 6 to 8:30 p.m.