Events

The College of Arts and Sciences at Western Michigan University strives to add value to the lives of its learners and continuously improve the quality of its programming to meet the needs and expectations of the communities it serves. Join us for events that are tailored to your academic interests and help prepare you for the future.

Submitting events for this calendar

Submit your events or news items online to the College of Arts and Sciences. For a series of events, email a list or the web address of the series information to coas-web@wmich.edu.

Submitting events to University Relations

If your event is open to the entire campus community, please share it with University Relations.

If you have CMS access, add an event under Add Content in the CMS. If you do not see that option under Add Content, apply for the reporter role for your section(s).

If you rarely submit events and do not have a Content Management Role for a website, complete the University event form.

Need a conference room for your event?

Reserve a conference room in 2302 or 2307 Friedmann Hall.

College of Arts and Sciences news

Stay up-to-date with the college news.

Upcoming events

Tuesday, December 11

Final examination week–through Dec. 13.

Employee photo session–For WMU faculty and staff, Walwood Hall's Heinig Emeriti Lounge, 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesday, December 12

Final examination week–through Dec. 13.

Thursday, December 13

Final examination week–through Dec. 13.

Saturday, December 15

Commencement–Miller Auditorium, times to be announced in November.

Fall semester ends

Tuesday, December 18

Fall semester grades due

Wednesday, December 19

Donuts With the Deans–Any student, faculty or staff is welcome to stop by and chat about news, ideas, questions or concerns with our dean and associate deans, Center for the Humanities–2500 Knauss Hall, 2 to 3:30 p.m.

Friday, December 21

Winter solstice (first day of winter)

Monday, December 24

Christmas Eve

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

Tuesday, December 25

Christmas Day

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

Wednesday, December 26

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

Thursday, December 27

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

Friday, December 28

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

Saturday, December 29

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

Sunday, December 30

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

Monday, December 31

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

New Year's Eve

Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Holiday recess–Many offices closed or on reduced hours.

New Year's Day

Wednesday, January 2

WMU offices resume normal business hours

Thursday, January 3

Advising Day

Friday, January 4

Advising Day

Monday, January 7

Spring semester classes begin at 8 a.m.

Tuesday, January 8

Donuts With the Deans–Any student, faculty or staff is welcome to stop by and chat about news, ideas, questions or concerns with our dean and associate deans, Center for the Humanities–2500 Knauss Hall, 1 to 2:30 p.m.

Friday, January 18

Spring graduation deadline–deadline for spring 2019 graduation.

Monday, January 21

Martin Luther King Jr. Day–No classes. Many WMU offices and services closed or on reduced hours.

Friday, January 25

Environmental Career Connections, Job Fair & Employer Panel–Students can connect with environmental professionals to gain insights into the job market, including the wide range of careers available and how best to launch their environmental careers and to connect employers with potential employees, Fetzer Center, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Tuesday, January 29

Ethics lecture–"Does Community-Wide Public Health Prevention Work? From Reducing Teen Births to Addressing Today's Opioid Epidemic," presented by Dr. Ron Cisler, co-sponsored with the Department of Philosophy, 157-158 Bernhard Center, 6 to 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 31

Gwen Frostic Reading Series–“Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News,” presented by Kevin Young, co-sponsored with the Department of English, 2452 Knauss Hall, 7 p.m.

Friday, February 1

Summer I and II graduation deadline–deadline for June and August graduation.

Tuesday, February 5

Chinese New Year

Monday, February 18

Presidents' Day

Tuesday, February 19

Discovery Acceleration WorkshopsFor WMU faculty and research staff, "Strategic Paths toward Successful Grants from Foundations and Other Non-Profit Organizations," 1040 Fetzer Center, noon to 2 p.m.  Registration required.

Donuts With the Deans–Any student, faculty or staff is welcome to stop by and chat about news, ideas, questions or concerns with our dean and associate deans, Center for the Humanities–2500 Knauss Hall, 2 to 3:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 21

Truth–“More Together Than Alone: The Power and Spirit of Community,” Mark Nepo, poet, author and philosopher, 2425 Knauss Hall, 7 p.m.

Friday, February 22

Diversity and Inclusion Conference"Health Care: The Power of a Community Who Cares", keynote speaker Mark Nepo, also featuring workshops and presentations by WMU faculty and students, College of Health and Human Services, Room 4010, 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Tickets $25, students $10, includes lunch. Registration required

Friday, March 1

Spirit Day–No classes.

Monday, March 4

Spring semester recess–through March 8.

Tuesday, March 5

Spring semester recess–through March 8.

Wednesday, March 6

Ash Wednesday

Spring semester recess–through March 8.

Thursday, March 7

Spring semester recess–through March 8.

Friday, March 8

Spring semester recess–through March 8.

Sunday, March 10

Daylight Saving Time begins

Monday, March 11

Spring semester classes resume at 8 a.m.

Wednesday, March 27

Donuts With the Deans–Any student, faculty or staff is welcome to stop by and chat about news, ideas, questions or concerns with our dean and associate deans, Center for the Humanities–2500 Knauss Hall, 1 to 2:30 p.m.

Thursday, March 28

Real Talk Diversity Series–"Transgender Day of visibility Celebration." Campus and community participants are invited to join in this celebration and show support for the transgender community, Trimpe Building–Multicultural Center, 4 to 5:30 p.m.; light refreshments provided.

Truth–“Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News,” Kevin Young, director of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and poetry editor for New Yorker, 2452 Knauss Hall, 7 p.m.

Thursday, April 4

Real Talk Diversity Series–"Celebrating us all: Asian Pacific American Heritage." Campus and local community members are invited to participate in festivities in honor of a range of Asian Pacific American traditions and experiences, Trimpe Building–Multicultural Center, 5:30 to 7 p.m.; light refreshments provided.

Tuesday, April 9

Donuts with the Deans–Any student, faculty or staff is welcome to stop by and chat about news, ideas, questions or concerns with our dean and associate deans, Center for the Humanities–2500 Knauss Hall, 1 to 2:30 p.m.

Friday, April 19

Good Friday

Passover begins at sundown

Sunday, April 21

Easter Sunday

Monday, April 22

Final examination week–through April 25.

Tuesday, April 23

Final examination week–through April 25.

Wednesday, April 24

Final examination week–through April 25.

Thursday, April 25

Final examination week–through April 25.

Saturday, April 27

Commencement–Miller Auditorium, times to be announced in March.

Passover ends

Spring semester ends

Tuesday, April 30

Spring semester grades due