Haworth College of Business News

Haworth College of Business to honor alumni and friends in college awards program

WMU’s Haworth College of Business will honor 10 alumni and friends for their outstanding career and service accomplishments during the first-ever college-wide awards recognition program and reception on Friday, October 7 at 4 p.m. in the Dean’s Conference Room, in Schneider Hall on the campus of WMU.

Awards will be presented from the academic departments within the college as well as the presentation of three special college awards.

“The awards are given to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their careers and who have been engaged with the department and/or college in significant ways,” says Dr. Kay Palan, dean, Haworth College of Business. “These individuals provide innovative, ethical and visionary leadership in business every day. They are remarkable leaders representing the very best of the Haworth College of Business and are examples for our students to aspire to in their own lives and careers.”

The awards will be presented by Dean Palan and department chairs. Steve Parker, BBA’67, MBA ’07, Haworth College of Business Advisory Council president, will serve as master of ceremonies for the event. Ken Miller, BBA ’69, MBA ’70, CEO/principal partner, Millenium Restaurant Group LLC, will give closing remarks.  The list of recipients is as follows:


Haworth College of Business Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award
Michael Gulino, BA ’65, MBA ’66

Haworth College of Business Outstanding Service Award
Angela Davis Robinson, BS ’74

Haworth College of Business Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Tyler Colton
, BBA ’06

Dept. of Business Information Systems Outstanding Alumni Award – Matthew Mace, BBA 98
Dept. of Finance & Commercial Law – Todd Sanford, BBA 83
Dept. of Management Outstanding Alumni Award – Christopher Flum, BBA 86

Marketing Hall of Fame Award  
Patricia Daugherty – BBA ’80, MBA 81
John Dillworth, BBA 79*

Food & Consumer Package Goods Marketing Outstanding Alumni Award*
Sawan Kapoor, BBA 01
Brian Haaraoja
, BS 84
Christopher Burns
, BS 86
  Donald Baker, BS 85

Food & Consumer Package Goods Marketing Adrian Trimpe Distinguished Service Award
Phil McGrath

WMU ROTC Wall of Fame
Colonel Rodney Faulk, BBA ’87*

Awards were presented in spring 2011.