2018–19 Events

multi-colored paint splatters and strokes on a black background with the word A TIME FOR MUSIC in the center

Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug

Events will be added as they are scheduled.

Parking in
Miller Auditorium
Monday–Thursday: Metered only until 8 p.m. ($0.25 per 10 min.)
Friday–Sunday: Free in any space starting at 4 p.m. Friday
Miller Auditorium small bag policy

Effective April 1, 2018, in an effort to enhance the safety of our patrons, Miller Auditorium adopted a best practices policy, consistent with policies being implemented at Performing Arts Centers across the nation. Please note, when coming to Miller, bags and purses should be no larger than 4.5" X 6.5", or approximately the size of a small hand bag or clutch purse. Anything larger than that may be subject to search or you may be requested to return the bag to your vehicle. Backpacks of any kind are strictly prohibited.

 

September

Best of MAT
Tuesday, Sept. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Mac McClure, Piano
Monday, Sept. 17, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Bullock Performance Institute: Dark Horse Consort
Wedesday, Sept. 19, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

October

Bullock Performance Institute: TRI-FI
Wednesday, Oct. 3, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

University Jazz Orchestra
Thursday, Oct. 4, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

University Symphony Orchestra with 2018 Stulberg Finalist Nathan Le, Cello
Sunday, Oct. 7, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free
view program

University Jazz Lab Band
Tuesday, Oct. 9, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Student Composers I
Wednesday, Oct. 10, 1 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Jazz Masters Series: Billy Hart, Drums
Thursday, Oct. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

University Wind Symphony
Sunday, Oct. 14, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free
view program

University Symphonic Band
Monday, Oct. 15, 7:30 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free
view program

Bullock Performance Institute: Music of Ramon and Mischa Zupko
Wednesday, Oct. 24, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

Choral Showcase: Collegiate Singers, Cantus Femina, and University Chorale
Sunday, Oct. 28, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Guest Artist Recital: Kate Boyd, Piano
Tuesday, Oct. 30, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

November

University Symphony Orchestra
Thursday, Nov. 1, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Gold Company Sneak Preview
Friday, Nov. 2, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

Bronco Marching Band
Sunday, Nov. 4, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

Guest Artist Recital: Benjamin Pierce, Tuba
Sunday, Nov. 4, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Surround Sound Concert
Monday, Nov. 5, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Bullock Performance Institute: Western Winds
Wednesday, Nov. 7, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

Alumna and Student Recital: Emily Solomon, Harpsichord
Friday, Nov. 16, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Big Band Swing Tribute: University Jazz Orchestra and University Jazz Lab Band
Saturday, Nov. 17, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets

University Wind Symphony and University Symphonic Band
Sunday, Nov. 18, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free
view program

Western Horn Choir
Tuesday, Nov. 19, 5 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Guest Artist Recital: Live Electronics
Wednesday, Nov. 28, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Student Composers II
Friday, Nov. 30, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

 

December

A Choral Christmas: University Chorale, Cantus Femina, Collegiate Singers
Saturday, Dec. 1, 4 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
First Presbyterian Church, Kalamazoo, Charge
view program | view flyer
purchase 4 p.m. tickets | purchase 7:30 p.m. tickets

Faculty Recital: Georgiy Borisov, Clarinet
Sunday, Dec. 2, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

Advanced Jazz Ensemble
Tuesday, Dec. 4, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | purchase tickets
 

University Symphony Orchestra: Moscow Ballet's Great Russian Nutcracker
Wednesday, Dec. 5, 7 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge

Campus Choir
Wednesday, Dec. 5, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

University Percussion Ensemble
Thursday, Dec. 6, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
view program

University Concert Band
Friday, Dec. 7, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

view program

Annual Holiday Concert: "Sounds of the Holiday Season" featuring the University Bands
Sunday, Dec. 9, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
view program | view flyer
purchase tickets

A Brass Celebration of Christmas
Sunday, Dec. 16, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
view program | view flyer
purchase tickets

January

Entrepreneurial Extravaganza: Concert by Ensemble Dal Niente
Thursday, Jan. 10, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
CANCELLED

Best of MAT
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

WMUsic Showcase Spectacular
Saturday, Jan. 19, 8 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free
CANCELLED

Bullock Performance Institute: Music of David Colson
Wednesday, Jan. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Bullock Performance Institute: University Chorale
Wednesday, Jan. 30, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

University Jazz Orchestra and University Jazz Lab Band
Thursday, Jan. 31, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

February

Guest Artist Recital: Kip Hickman, Trombone
Sunday, Feb. 3, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Western Winds
Tuesday, Feb. 5, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Aether Eos
Wednesday, Feb. 6, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Lecture Hall, Free

Annual Gold Company Show
Friday, Feb. 8, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Annual Gold Company Show
Saturday, Feb. 9, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase 2 p.m. tickets | purchase 8 p.m. tickets

Concerto Competition Finals
Sunday, Feb. 10, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Carl Allen, Drums
Tuesday, Feb. 12, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Arjun Verma, Sitar
Wednesday, Feb. 13, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

WMU School of Music Opera: Suor Angelica/The Spanish Hour
Saturday, Feb. 16, 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

University Symphony Orchestra
Saturday, Feb. 16, 8 p.m.
Chenery Auditorium, Kalamazoo, Free

WMU School of Music Opera: Suor Angelica/The Spanish Hour
Sunday, Feb. 17, 5 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

University Wind Symphony and University Symphonic Band
Tuesday, Feb. 19, 7:30 p.m.
Chenery Auditorium, Kalamazoo, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Keith Kirchoff, Piano
Wednesday, Feb. 20, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Student Composers III
Thursday, Feb. 21, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Choral Showcase: Collegiate Singers, Cantus Femina, and University Chorale
Sunday, Feb. 24, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Collect/Project
Wednesday, Feb. 27, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

March

Bullock Performance Institute: Seraph Brass Quintet and Western Brass Quintet
Wednesday, March 13, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

81st Annual Southwestern Michigan Vocal Festival
Thursday, March 14, 7 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free
Vocal Festival website

Bullock Performance Institute: Lafayette String Quartet
Wednesday, March 20, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Western Invitational Jazz Festival: Opening Concert featuring Jerry Bergonzi, Saxophone
Friday, March 22, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Western Invitational Jazz Festival: Closing Concert featuring University Jazz Orchestra
Saturday, March 23, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Bullock Performance Institute: Andrew Rathbun CD Release Concert
Wednesday, March 27, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Gold Company Vocal Jazz Invitational: Johnaye Kendrick, Vocals
Friday, March 29, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Gold Company Vocal Jazz Invitational: Closing Concert featuring Gold Company
Saturday, March 30, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

University Percussion Ensemble
Sunday, March 31, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

April

WMU Drum Choir
Monday, April 1, 5 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Opera Workshop
Monday, April 1, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Gold Company II
Tuesday, April 2, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Voice Faculty Showcase
Wednesday, April 3, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

51st Annual Spring Conference on Wind and Percussion Music: Carter Pann, Guest Composer and Conductor
Thursday, April 4, 7:30 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free
Spring Conference website

Guest Artist and Student Recital: The Music of Carter Pann
Saturday, April 6, 2 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Student Composers IV
Saturday, April 6, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Symphonic Band and University Concert Band
Sunday, April 7, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

University Jazz Lab Band
Tuesday, April 9, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Martha Councell-Vargas, Flute
Wednesday, April 10, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Choral Showcase: Collegiate Singers, Cantus Femina, and University Chorale
Saturday, April 13, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

60th Annual Concerto Concert: University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, April 14, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

39th Annual Music Therapy Clinic Concert
Monday, April 15, 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

May

 

June

 

July

 

August