January 2020 Events

Wednesday, January 1

New Year's Day

Thursday, January 2

Advising Day

Friday, January 3

Advising Day

Monday, January 6

Spring semester classes begin at 8 a.m.

Saturday, January 11

Saturday Morning Science"The Science of Electrified Transportation," Paul Pancella, 1104 Rood Hall, doors open at 10:30, lecture begins at 11 a.m. Free and open to the public.

Monday, January 13

Workshop"Introduction to Mendeley Desktop," Michele Behr and Edward Eckel, Waldo Library, Classroom B (0152), noon to 1:30 p.m. Free. Registration requested.

Tuesday, January 14

Workshop"Starting a Business: Business Resource Essentials," LuMarie Guth, Portage District Library, 300 Library Lane, 6 to 7:30 p.m. Free. Registration requested.

Wednesday, January 15

SRC open houseNew Year New You, Student Recreation Center, 6 a.m. to 10:30 p.m., free with Bronco ID.
Performance"Jersey Boys", Miller Auditorium, 7:30 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.

Thursday, January 16

Global Hop: "Asiana (East)"Celebration of global engagement; Global Kitchen and Lounge (Hadley Hall), 4 to 6 p.m. Free, no registration required. 
Performance"Jersey Boys", Miller Auditorium, 7:30 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.

Friday, January 17

Performance"Colin Mochrie (of Whose Line is it, Anyway) presents HYPROV: Improv Under Hypnosis", Miller Auditorium, 8 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.

Saturday, January 18

Performance"Dinosaur World Live", Miller Auditorium, 2 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.

Monday, January 20

Martin Luther King Jr. DayNo classes, convocation and activities.

Tuesday, January 21

Discovery Acceleration WorkshopFor WMU faculty and research staff, "Grants for Education Research," 3310 Sangren Hall, noon to 1:30 p.m. Registration required. Lunch provided. Free.
Workshop"Introduction to Zotero Desktop," Edward Eckel, Waldo Library, Classroom B (0152), noon to 1:30 p.m. Free. Registration requested.

Wednesday, January 22

Gold GatheringsBuffet lunch for faculty and staff, Rooms 208-209 Bernhard Center, 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Free. Registration required.

Friday, January 24

Workshop"Open Textbook Workshop," for WMU faculty and staff, presented by Maira Bundza, Swain Education Library, Group Study Room D, 1 to 2 p.m. Free. Registration requested
Geography Colloquium"Remote Sensing Approach to Estimate Crop Water Use and Stress Across Agricultural Lands in India, Dr. Nishan Bhattarai, 2119 Wood Hall, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Saturday, January 25

Chinese New Year

Tuesday, January 28

Broadway musical"Les Misérables", Miller Auditorium, 7:30 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.

Wednesday, January 29

Workshop"Introduction to Mendeley Desktop," Michele Behr and Edward Eckel, Waldo Library, Classroom B (0152), 2 to 3:30 p.m. Free. Registration requested.
Broadway musical"Les Misérables", Miller Auditorium, 7:30 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.

Thursday, January 30

Real Talk Diversity Series"Inclusive Careers: The Colors of Leadership," panel disucssion, Trimpe Multicultural Center, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. Free.
Broadway musical"Les Misérables", Miller Auditorium, 7:30 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.

Friday, January 31

Broadway musical"Les Misérables", Miller Auditorium, 7:30 p.m. Tickets: millerauditorium.com or (269) 387-2300.