Events

Western Michigan University's Department of Political Science hosts speakers and other events on campus.

Events

Thursday, February 7

Dr. Darren Walhof, Grand Valley State University, presents "Religious Liberty and the Bigotry Anxiety: Contesting the Terms of Secularism"

Political Science Library, 3301 FRD, 3:30 p.m.
Light refreshments

Friday, February 8

Government and Nonprofit Job Fair

Bernhard Center 1 to 4 p.m., Free

Monday, February 11

Registration begins for Summer I and Summer II 2019 semesters.  View course offerings here.

Friday, February 15

Climate Change Working Group presents a panel discussion  about the "true costs of climate change"

Knauss 3508, 2 p.m. 

Wednesday, February 20

Evaluation Cafe: "Using Big Data: Electoral and Voter Data used for Targeted Promotions," Christina Soliz, Planned Parenthood Advocates of Michigan, 4410 Ellsworth Hall, noon to 1 p.m. Free; lunch provided.

Monday, March 4 through Friday, March 8

WMU Spring Break

Sunday, March 10

Spring Forward, turn your clocks ahead 1 hour

Tuesday, March 19

Dr. Charlie Kurth, associate professor of philosophy, presents "Should politicians be Anxious?"

Ethics Center, 6 p.m.

Monday, March 25

Winnie Veenstra Peace Lecture: Susan Bensch, Faculty Associate, Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University, and Director, Dangerous Speech Project will discuss the role of hate speech on Facebook and other social media platforms in inciting mass violence.  She will also address social media's potential for prevention and mitigation of violence.

Brown & Gold Room, Bernhard Center, 6 p.m.

Monday, April 22 through Thursday, April 23

Spring 2019 Final Exams- schedule

Saturday, April 27

WMU College of Arts and Sciences Graduation Commencement

Miller Auditorium, 6 p.m.