



### 2 February 2023

 TO: Research Policies Council Members: Onur Arugaslan, Lori Brown, Christine Byrd-Jacobs, Margarita Carrillo, Martha Councell-Vargas, Whitney DeCamp (designee for Provost), Noor Fathima, Wanda Hadley, Betty McKain (substitute for Remzi Seker), Daria Orlowska, Paul Solomon, Andre Venter, Robert Wall Emerson, Kevin Wanner, Qingliu Wu (substitute for Kristina Lemmer) Ex Officio: Mark Hurwitz, Anthony DeFulio GUEST(S): Bonnie Gabriel, Business Manager Associate, Office of Research and Innovation; David Johnson, Intellectual Property Manager, Office of Research and Innovation
FROM: Andre Venter, Chair

### Research Policy Council AGENDA

Thursday, 9 February 2023, 2:30 to 4:30 p.m. Support for Faculty Scholars Award Review Panel 2:30 to 3 p.m. Regular Research Policy Council Meeting 3 to 4:30 p.m. Webex: <u>https://wmich.webex.com/wmich/j.php?MTID=m0296cdf51d8c137965fe1c8bb96b8833</u>

# 1. Call to Order

2. Acceptance of the Agenda

# 3. Approval of Minutes

a. Research Policies Council - 12 January 2023 Minutes

# 4. Reports of Officers

- a. Chair Report Venter
- b. Ex Officio Report DeFulio

# 5. Reports of University Representatives

- a. Vice President for Research and Innovation McKain
- b. Graduate College Dean Byrd-Jacobs
- 6. Reports of Councils/Committees Standing Committee(s)
  - a. Research Screening Committee Hurwitz

#### 7. Unfinished Business

a. Charge # 5: Research Tools Available Through the University Libraries - Venter

#### 8. New Business

- a. Introduction of Attorney David Johnson, New Intellectual Property Manager at the Office of Research and Innovation McKain
- b. The National Science Foundation Off-Site Compliance Requirements Mays

c. Charge #2: Recommendations and Memorandum of Action for Enhancing Interdisciplinary Research and Creative Collaborations at the College and Department Levels – Venter

### 9. Announcements

#### 10. Adjournment

COUNCILS ONLY: Elected members who cannot attend the meeting are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Non-elected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.