Faculty Senate



WMU Essential Studies Course Review and Approval Committee Minutes of 20 April 2022

Call to Order

The regular meeting of the Western Michigan University Faculty Senate WMU Essential Studies Course Review and Approval Committee was called to order at 10:05 a.m. on April 20, 2022, virtually via Webex by Colleen Stano, chair.

Roll Call

Members in Attendance: Dana Hammond, Kirsty Eisenhart, Kathryn Thomsen, Carol Weideman Members Absent: Beth Ernst, Gina Kling, Michele McGrady, Matilda McLean, Kathryn Wagner Advisory Members Present: Diana Blouin, Melinda Lockett, Colleen Stano Advisory Members Absent: Nick Gauthier, Anthony Helms, Sharon VanDyken, Nicolas Witschi Ex Officio Absent: Decker Hains Guest(s): Randy Ott, Senior Director, Academic Collaboration, Merze Tate College

Quorum

A quorum was not present.

Agenda

Due to a lack of quorum, the agenda could not be accepted. The meeting continued as an information only session.

Minutes

Due to a lack of quorum, the approval of the 21 March 22 minutes was postponed.

Reports of University Representatives

Chair Stano did not provide a report.

Due to his absence, Ex Officio Hains did not provide a report.

Unfinished Business

The following courses were discussed for the cyclical review

- WES_GEOG 2560
- WES_GWS 2000
- WES_LANG 2500
- WES_SLHS 2000
- WES ENG1050
- WES_ENG 3810
- WES ECON3090
- PHIL 3250
- HIST 3060
- WES FCS 2170
- WES GEOG 1020
- WES_GEOG 2560
- WES GWS 2010
- WES_HISP 2650
- WES MUS 3500
- WES PHIL 3030
- WES_PHIL 3103

- WES_REL 3015
- WES_SOC 2100
- WES_AAAS 2800
- WES_AAAS 3000
- WES_AAAS 3010
- WES_ARAB 2750
- WES_BUS 2200
- WES_CHIN 2750
- WES_GEOG 3200
- WES_HIST 2125

New Business

The following course were discussed for initial proposal review

- WES_LAT 1000_L—2021_LANG_139
- WES_LS 1040_E2022_SPLS_10

Announcements

No announcements

Adjournment

Chair Stano adjourned the meeting at 12 p.m. WMU Essential Studies Course Review and Approval Committee next meeting date will be determined over the summer.

Approval

Submitted by Carol Weideman, Secretary

Minutes approved on 17 October 2022.