

# FACULTY SENATE MEETING Minutes of 21 April 2022

#### Call to Order

The special meeting of the Western Michigan University Faculty Senate was called to order at 5:03 p.m. on 21 April 2022, in rooms 157/159 of the Bernhard Center and via Webex video conferencing by Marilyn Kritzman, president. The recording secretary was present.

Roll Call: There were 69 members and substitutes present, and 39 guests.

**Members Present In-Person**: Diane Anderson, Louann Bierlein Palmer (substitute for David Szabla), Christopher Cheatham, Lisa DeChano-Cook, David Flanagan, Decker Hains, Keith Hearit, Jean Kimmel, Tetyana Koshmanova, Marilyn Kritzman, David Paul, David Rudge, Scott Slawinski, Sarah Summy, Jan Van Der Kley, Andre Venter

Members Present Virtually: Osama Abudayyeh, Eric Archer, Pnina Ari-Gur, Onur Arugaslan, Upul Attanayake, Amy Bocko, Stephanie Burns, Zbigniew Chajecki, Stephen Covell, William David (substitute for Vince Torano), Suma Devanga, Clifton Ealy, Maria Cristina Fava, Kieran Fogarty, Dyanne Foskey, Susan Freeman, Gene Freudenburg, Maria Gigante, Sandra Glista, Janet Hahn, Trey Harris, Chansheng He, Lynne Heasley, Mark Hurwitz, Pavel Ikonomov, Antonio Isea, Brian Jansen (substitute for Kyle Jehnzen), Dean Johnson, Stephen Kaczmarek, Mohammad Dneshvar Kakhki (substitute for Reza Mousavi), Vyacheslav Karpov, Mary Lagerwey, Douglas Lepisto, Geoffrey Lindenberg, Debra Lindstrom, Thayma Lutz, Colin McCreery, Parviz Merati, Matthew Mingus, Joshua Naranjo, Amy Naugle, Kelley Pattison, John Petrovic, Kathleen Propp, Lori Reichel, Linda Schmidt, Larry Simon, Chitra Singh (substitute for Beth Jarl), Marianne Swierenga, Laura Teichert, Bret Wagner (substitute for JoAnn Atkin), Shu Yang, Andrew Zolp

**Members Absent**: Sunday Bonifas, Don Hoover, John Jellies, Philip Johnson, Dae Kim, Nathan Lisak, Candy McCorkle, Edward Montgomery, David Nofsinger, Kelsey Paschich, Alexandra Pekarovicova, Troy Place, Joshua Santos, Tim Scheu, C. Dennis Simpson, Ron Van Houten (substitute for Anthony DeFulio)

Guests Present In-Person: Julie Apker, Communication; Andrea Beach, Associate Dean, College of Education and Human Development; Colin Cork, Human Performance and Health Education; Deborah Droppers, Human Performance and Health Education; Marcia Fetters, Associate Dean, College of Education and Human Development; Patrick Hanlin, Sindecuse Health Center; Carla Koretsky, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Yuanlong Liu, Chair, Human Performance and Health Education; Aya Miller, Western Herald; Cheng Kidd Sun, President-elect, Western Student Association; Jacinda Swanson, Political Science

Guests Present Virtually: Samuel Beasley, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology; Michele Behr, University Libraries; Sandra Borden, Communication; Stephen Butt, Dean, Engineering and Applied Sciences; Laura Ciccantell, Teacher and Administrator Certification; Whitney DeCamp, Sociology; Satish Deshpande, Dean, Haworth College of Business; Kristal Ehrhardt, Interim Chair, Special Education and Literacy Studies; Brett Geier, Education Leadership, Research, and Technology; Bryon Glock, Office of Information Technology; Wanda Hadley, Education Leadership, Research, and Technology; Annette Hamel, Communication; Michelle Hrivnyak, Intercultural and Anthropological Studies; Ming Li, Dean, College of Education and Human Development; William Liou, Chair, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Irma Lopez, Dean, Lee Honors College; Kelly McDonnel, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology; Pablo Pastrana, Chair, Spanish; Staci Perryman Clark, Chair, Intercultural and Anthropological Studies; Anna Popkova, Communication; Susan Pozo, Economics; Daniela Schroeter, Public Affairs and Administration; Dee Sherwood, Social Work; Jacinda Swanson, Political Science; Gwen Tarbox, English; Zeljka Vidic, Human Performance and Health Education; Cody Williams, Mallinson Institute for Science Education; Laiyin Zhu, Geography, Environment, and Tourism

## Faculty Senate Staff Present: Sue Brodasky

#### Quorum

A quorum was present with 69 Senators in attendance of the 45 needed to establish quorum.

#### **Unfinished Business**

President Kritzman led the Faculty Senate review and appeal of curriculum proposal CEHD1155. She noted the motion on the floor at the last meeting. It was moved by Kimmel, seconded by Rudge, that the Faculty Senate vote to approve the appeal of curriculum proposal CEHD1155 by the College of Arts and Sciences Dean Carla Koretsky, as presented.

### Questions included:

- It was suggested that the Executive Board members abstain due to a conflict of interest, since it is the Executive Board's prior recommendation which is being appealed. President Kritzman noted that the motion is not specific to the Executive Board. Dean Koretsky clarified that the appeal is specific to the recommendation of the Executive Board. Director Hains explained that several Executive Board members hold seats as Senators and should be allowed to exercise their right to vote. Also, additional information has been presented to the full senate that was not available at the time of the Executive Board's recommendation. Discussion was held. Director Mingus noted that the Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure does not allow for someone else to decide who will abstain, it is defined in the parliamentary procedures what required for an individual to determine if they should abstain. The Senator noted it was a conflict of interest because the Executive Board members have already voted on this issue and the motion is appealing that decision.
- It was stated that the appeal was detailed and persuasive and showed that there was no
  evidence that the proposed major would increase enrollment. At best it would at best move
  students from one college to another. The available jobs in the market are being filled by other
  majors. The process has been flawed from the start and every ongoing stage.
- In response it was noted that data was collected from two outside agencies, which projected that the number of job postings in the field are increasing and there are opportunities for students. It appears there have been misconceptions regarding departmental views. There is a need to try something new facing the current enrollment decline.
- Appreciations was expressed to all the faculty who have worked on behalf of the department which proposed the new major. It was suggested that Arts and Sciences put forward an opposing proposal.

With 40 in favor, 17 against, and 2 abstentions, the motion carried.

#### Adjournment

With no further business the meeting stands adjourned at 5:45 p.m. The next Faculty Senate meeting will be 12 May 2022 in room 208/209 of the Bernhard Center and virtually via Webex.

<b>Approval</b> Submitted by Sue Brodasky, Faculty Senate Administrator and Recording Secretary.
Minutes approved this day of 2022.